We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodpecker Pizza Deli

Woodpecker Pizza Deli
270 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
+27285142924
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 27 Restaurants in Swellendam
Price range: $4 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Café, Pizza & Pasta, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Swellendam is home to the Woodpecker Pizzadeli.Well known for our thin base pizza variety, delicious pasta dishes, homemade burgers and scrumptious schnitzels!Licensed.
Swellendam, South Africa
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Fantastic coffee! Great little menu. Had an aubergine sandwich that tastes fantastic. Do try it out!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    37
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious & Rich in Flavour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We made a pit-stop in Swellendam for a lunch break after driving from Tsitsikamma. The deli is located very close to the highway exit and as such makes for a great place to break for lunch while travelling on the highway. We ordered a putanesca pasta and a salami with peppers pizza - both were very tasty and full of flavour and spices (just the way we like it). The prices are very reasonable and the owners are very friendly. We had a lovely time chatting with them. Its very highly recommended for their good simple and flavorful food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived early afternoon from Capetown in Swellendam.
This restaurant is next door to the Bed and Breakfast Bloomestate.
We had lunch outdoors, which was very pleasant.
I ordered a pizza. There is only one size: large.
The size is enough for 2. Luckily doggybags are no problem.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Convenient and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the Rothman Manor and this pizzeria is right next door so a 2 minute walk away. It's good simple honest food at a reasonable price with great service.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khan.anisha@yahoo.com
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Crusty not crispy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The tables outside made for a good setting. Found the service to be slow despite the waiters trying their best. The pizza and focaccia bases were extremely hard. Despite great reviews we found our meal to be average.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodpecker Pizza Deli also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Woodpecker Pizza Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodpecker Pizza Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.