We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Connection

The Connection
Main Street, Swellendam, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 25 restaurants in Swellendam
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A delicious surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Food and atmosphere were great. This restaurant has no menu and serves family-style platters of three types of meat cooked that day - which at first made us hesitant to eat here - but after reading other reviews we decided to try it and were very glad we did! The meat was excellent - well-cooked, delicious flavors, and as much of it as we wanted. The dessert we had was also delicious. The atmosphere of the restaurant is very homey. The husband and wife team who run the place and cook the food were very friendly. There is also a vegetarian option each night.
The only complaint I have is that the price for a bottle of wine, 150 R, was expensive compared to the price we saw it being sold for in the liquor store. But, I understand that restaurants always mark up the price of wine, and it didn't take away from the quality of the food or the eating experience here.
I would definitely return!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    35
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Super food, and great set menu, with plenty to eat. The hosts are welcoming and the restaurant very relaxed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty Sunday night dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We ended up at the Connection Restaurant after finding many Swellendam restaurants closed on a sunday night!
The food was fabulous! We had the fixed menu & started with the delicious Pork Pate with htin slices of rye bread and followed with flavoursome vegetable soup!
You can take your own wine along for a very small corkage charge but then came the most outstanding Oxtail i have tasted in a long time. The meat just fell off the bone & the sauce was to die for! Congrats to Jenny who cooks up a storm in the kitchen with really tasty inexpensive food & to Ollie for his attentive service!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Restaurant in Swellendam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The food was absolutely wonderful - cooked to perfection in fact - and the owners were very friendly. Food was not too pricey but worth every cent.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Would you like Seconds?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We enjoyed our first night here so much we booked to go again the following night. There isn't a menu, but that makes it all the more interesting. You start with bread and pate, followed by a small bowl of soup. The main course was served on a platter and consisted of beef fillet in a mushroom sauce, pork loin in soy and sherry sauce, lamb stew in a small pot, potatoes and veg and we were even asked if we wanted seconds. The beef fillet was so good we could hardly say no! We believe the beef fillet stays but the other two meats change daily, as did the soup. There aren't many tables and all were taken on the terrace both nights so if you want to enjoy some exceptional home cooking booking is advisable. We thought the food here was the best in our 18 day tour.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Connection also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to The Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Connection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.