We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic soup” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Connection - CLOSED

The Connection
Main Street, Swellendam, South Africa
Improve this listing
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

The butternut soup was delicious and tasty. The beef dish was a scrummy dish. Would go back. The staff were good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swellendam, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lazy Owner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was very dissapointed with the poor menu/variety. I got the idea that you must take what is on the stove or go somewere else. Some call it a set menu, i dont. Expected more.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swellendam, South Africa
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had a scrumptious lunch from a great looking lunch menu. The coffe was the best in town

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An excellent set menu, don't be put off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We choose this restuarant as it was the closest to our guesthouse and were slightly put off when we realised that there was a set menu - how wrong we were. Neither of us would have opted for a butternut squash soup as a starter but it was superb, so creamy. The main course consisted of 3 different dishes of lamb stew, beef and chicken with vegetables, all were excellent. The portions looked small but weren't, neither of us had a dessert! The menu appeared slightly pricey but the quality of the food proved it to be excellent value. Definately to be recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Simple and unpretentious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

What a lovely suprise! Owner, Oliviero and his wife cook and serve in Italian tradition. We had a lovely meal and great hospitality. Will be back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Connection also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Connection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.