We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swellendam Country Lodge

Save Saved
You added Swellendam Country Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swellendam Country Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   237 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740 , South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Direct Booking Special
Ranked #6 of 33 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Aachen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My mother and I spent two nights in this lovely guesthouse while in Swellendam visiting family. It was a very pleasant stay -- the room and bathroom lovely, clean, and comfortable. I enjoyed the large, settled garden, the pool, service (even our car got cleaned!), friendliness, and a great breakfast with fruit and more. Since the rooms are set back from the road and there is much vegetation between the rooms and the road, it was fairly quiet, with many birds. We will come back here next time. I have no complaints, only a few suggestions:
- It would have been great to have had help with our luggage when we arrived. I had to carry our two very heavy suitcases to the room, since they could not be rolled on the gravel path. But I should probably just have asked.
- While traveling, one often needs to rinse out a few items of clothing, hang up bathing suit to dry, etc. Some more hooks or rails for this in the bathroom would be useful.
These are only minor points -- I strongly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    24
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
55
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The lodge is tucked up off the main road (which is quiet) in beautiful gardens that are tended in a relaxed informal way. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with small verandahs to sit out on and enjoy the peacefulness.
The breakfasts are beautifully prepared and served with home made preserves and marmalades.
There are a number of restaurants within a short walk so there's choice for dinner.
Definitely a great place to stop for a night or two.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Arrived late night without a booking or a call and lucky for us they had a room available, friendly and help full all the way
Best breakfast we had in a long time with so many choices, we would recommend a overnight here if you need to stay a night or two in Swellendam. Thanks

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

It is a gorgeous place. The only 'to be improved' is the internet connexion from the roms. All the rest, location, breakfast, rooms and service, simply perfect. The couple are friendly and nice. I would repeat for sure.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerhugowaard
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed two nights at Swellendam Country Lodge. The rooms are nicely decorated and spacious. The garden is truly beautiful, with lots of fruit trees and a swimming pool.
On our first morning, we were very surprised by the lovely breakfast; fruit (some of it from the garden), homemade compotes and jams, as well as a "full English" option.
There is a restaurant across the road, the centre of Swellendam is approximately 2 mms away.

Room Tip: All rooms are away from the main house, I don't think there is much difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Our hosts Bettie & Heiko were very welcoming and did everything they could to help us - and the breakfasts were excellent - couldn't think of anything we might want that wasn't offered. Nice option of eating inside our out. As for another guest, Heiko even came and caught and removed our rain spider - sure enough, it rained that night.
The pool and surrounding grounds were very pleasant and the location is convenient.
Our one reservation is with the size of the rooms if you're staying for more than a couple of nights. Although nicely furnished & with a good sized bathroom it did feel a bit cramped for a 4 night stay and lots of luggage. If you're just passing through or only staying for a night or two it wouldn't be a problem and more than made up for by everything else. Excellent restaurant recommendations as well. The Field & Fork was our favourite. Great pizza opposite at the Woodpecker as well.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for the biggest?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northiam, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We only stayed one night here on our way to Cape Town. The position is excellent. The gardens and pool are lovely. The breakfast was beautifully presented. The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. The only thing I would say is that the rooms could be lighter. A little white paint and better lighting would be helpful, with a better shower and real milk or even UHT milk instead of powdered for the complimentary coffee and tea in the rooms. But overall a lovely place to stay with 2 restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swellendam Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swellendam Country Lodge

Address: 237 Voortrek Street, Swellendam 6740 , South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swellendam Country Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Swellendam Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swellendam Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.