We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Belle Alliance

La Belle Alliance
1 Swellengrebel Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
028 514 2252
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 29 Restaurants in Swellendam
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: La Belle Alliance, a family run restaurant since 1998, is situated on the main road between the Drostdy Museum and the Dutch Reformed Church, on the banks of the Koornlands river.The historical building was formerly a masonic lodge with some symbols still visible on the premises today. The garden terrace offers tranquility and shade under a canopy of White Stinkwood trees and lots of sunshine and blankets on cooler winter days."Specials" include both traditional and international dishes, all freshly home made.La Belle Alliance is renowned for its efficient and friendly service. The venue is child and dog friendly and the ideal spot to enjoy a relaxed breakfast or lunch.Opening hours: Mondays to Sundays: 8am to 5pm.Fully Licensed.Credit cards accepted.Languages spoken: English, Afrikaans, Dutch/Flemish, French and German.Indoor (50 pax) and outdoor(100 pax) seating.Groups welcome.Find us on facebook.GPS longitude: 20'27' EGPS Latitude: 34' 01' S
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“On the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Beautifully situated next to the river. Tables on the deck allow you to eat with the birds. Food is good but a bit pricey.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    48
    13
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lunch in a pleasant setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We enjoyed lunch here, from quite an extensive menu, and found it good value. The building is historic and typical of others in Swellendam. We sat on the tree-shaded terrace by the river, a lovely spot just off the main road, but surprisingly quiet. It is a pity they close at 5pm, as this would be a nice spot to eat dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Following the French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were looking for a restaurant and saw a party of French people entering. "Was it recommended?" "Oui". So we followed them in as the French are no slouches at lunchtime!

We fond Belgian owners. Had a superb lunch on the river terrace and although popular the food was excellent. Service suffered a little with the pressure of covers but Its somewhere I would go again, not only for the food but for the superb interior to the restaurant, the variety of bird life and the history.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kreuzlingen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food in the middle of nowhere...well almost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Days before our visit to Swellendam, we unfortunately had to contend with mediocre service, with food on the verge of disgusting, at all touristy places, wherever we went.
Swellendam is a small town on the N2 highway with miles of nothing before, and more miles of nothing after it so, it seemed to make sense, to come off the highway, and find somewhere to eat lunch....glad we did. The restaurant is tucked away from the Swellendamgrebel Street on the river, partially masked by mature trees, and flowering bushes however, the entrance to the carpark is unmistakable since the tall white painted building draws attention. We found a table close to the high river bank under the shade of trees, and ordered out meal which was chosen from the daily menu. It seems that everywhere in South Africa a Thursday is chicken pie day! Well, we ordered chicken pie, and for all the curiosity, I decided to try the Matjes (Herring) rolls with salad. The service was prompt, and friendly, the pie was very tasty, as were, most surprisingly, the lightly marinated Matjes rolls. At last! we were served with fresh salads, for which we had a choice of olive oils, dressings, and condiments. Although the restaurant offers a variety of good wines, we didnt want to indulge in breaking the law on the road.
Although there are several other eateries in town, none compare with the ambience experienced here. Well worth a visit before or after season and on weekends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Lovely location. Sadly food only so so. :-(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We chose to stop here for lunch en route from Knysna to Hermanus. The restaurant is conveniently handy for the N2 & is situated under trees by the river.

Sadly, the toasted sandwiches, fries & salads didn't match the location. The service was both swift & friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Belle Alliance also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to La Belle Alliance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Belle Alliance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.