We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a special taste” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Gaol Restaurant

Old Gaol Restaurant
8A Voortrekstraat, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
+27 28 514 3847
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 27 Restaurants in Swellendam
Price range: $2 - $8
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Oberrieden, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a special taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

great food. tastes really local! go for a table under the trees. you support an ambitious project to get local women involved in the hospitality business (they co-own the gaol restaurant),

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    41
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hmmm...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went out for a bite to eat at this local restaurant and I think that the service was ok, could have been better if the waitress had introduced herself and recommended a table for me to sit at rather than me having to find my own table...

None the less the food was fine and the atmosphere was fine. 3/5 from me I would give. Tip: the menu looks outdated so try adding some new items or specials for the week

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Warm welcome at The Old Goal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Swellendam welcomes the weary traveller with a plethora of good places to eat and sample local beer or wine. Bistros and coffee shops, restaurants and guest houses line the main road. We chose the Old Goal because we could sit at a table under the trees. Portions are generous, ingredients fresh and beautifully plated. We thoroughly enjoyed our delicious salads and home-made chicken pie which was very generously filled with succulent white meat. The restaurant offers a good selection of wines and beers as well as home-made ginger beer or lemonade to quench a traveller’s thirst on a hot summer’s day. A lovely garden and shady trees make this a perfect place for families, especially with small children. Reasonably priced and very good value – food and service are excellent. Well worth a detour for an hour or two as you drive the Garden Route.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Best in Swellendam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

On our way to the Garden Route we had to stop at The Old Goal again, the food, service and atmosphere is still the same "Excellent".

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Beautiful surrounds, tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stopped for lunch here and it is a truly delightful spot. Luckily we had good weather and so could sit out on the patio. The garden at the back is also excellent especially for children, with well thought out swings and play areas. There is also a very interesting collection of old carts, well worth a look.

The food when it came, was excellent, but although our small coach party had all placed our orders in advance over the phone on the way, the service was still terribly slow. That said, if you are in the area, it is one not to be missed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Gaol Restaurant also viewed

Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 
Swellendam, Overberg District
Swellendam, Overberg District
 

Been to Old Gaol Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Gaol Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.