We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Indian opens in Somerset West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moksh Authentic Indian Cuisine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Moksh Authentic Indian Cuisine
41, Victoria Street, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
84 372 9423
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 84 Restaurants in Somerset West
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Indian opens in Somerset West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Somerset West at last has is own authentic Indian restaurant. The food, well explained and recommended by the staff, was high quality and thoroughly enjoyed by our group. Wine is BYO at this stage, but a licence application is apparently in process. A very pleasant, affordable evening - highly recommended!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tastes of India”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We went for dinner last Thursday at Mokshe and the food was amazing! We thoroughly enjoyed the experience, ambiance and excellent service. The fact that we could take our own wine, made the evening a very affordable experience on top of all of that.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

An absolute wonderful Indian food experience! Lovely Pappadums on the table at arrival with a great menu to choose from. The waiter explained each dish with care. We all (6 people) chose different dishes in order to sample of each dish. And they were all very, very tasty and delicious! No liquor licence yet, so remember to take your own wine!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We welcome an authentic north Indian restaurant in Somerset West. Housed in an old Cape-style building, they have added subtle Indian decor.
Pappadums and a mint-chilli chutney are on the table as you are seated. The mint-chilli is slightly 'cheap' and has a commercially bottled flavour & colour; the chipped glass bowl also was not a good start!
We did not opt for starters but those arriving at neighbouring tables looked good.
Our selection of Chicken Tikka Masala, Lamb Korma and Palak Paneer were all delicious. The meat was tender and each came with a serving of rice. We ordered medium 'heat' but the dishes were all too mild for our palates. The rice & plates were unfortunately cold, a problem on a cold evening.
The Indian desserts were very sweet ...... but then they often tend to be over-sweet for the Western palate.
No wine is sold so remember to bring your favourite wine for curry from your cellar.
The place was full, a good sign of appreciation, so booking is recommended.
Very pleasant service!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“At last.. A fab Indian.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

In the UK, Indian cuisine has pretty much become our national dish.
After living in S.A. for a few years and not being a fan of the heavy and overpriced Indian meals served locally we have to travel into Cape Town for a decent Indian meal.
We were at the Moksh on the opening night and have been back 4 times since.
Great food, great service, great value. Yummy!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moksh Authentic Indian Cuisine also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Moksh Authentic Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moksh Authentic Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.