We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great and modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Equus Restaurant at Cavalli Stud and Wine Farm

Equus Restaurant at Cavalli Stud and Wine Farm
Cavalli Wine Estate | Strand Road R44, Somerset West 7129, South Africa
+27 21 855 3218
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Led by talented local chef Henrico Grobbelaar, Cavalli's approach to cuisine can be described as 'a contemporary take on the classics', contextually driven, and encompassing a combination of freshness, flavour and flair. Real, humble food cooked textbook style, paired with an expertly crafted local and international wine list, artisanal cocktail, craft beer and a notable selection of single malt whiskeys. Herbs and a selection of vegetables on the menu are grown in the Estate's self sustained heirloom garden. The restaurant is set to establish itself as a premier fine dining destination locally and internationally and is now open for lunch and dinner 4 days a week, Wednesday through Saturday for relaxed, generous Bistro lunch and Fine-Dining Dinner and Sunday Fine-Dining Lunch.
Paarl, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great and modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Very upmarket. Food very good but small portion sizes. Not for the hungry. Great service. Wine selections excellent. Very pricey but worth it, Modern ambiance, not cosy or romantic. Mostly older and rich cliental.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    19
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Equus lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The entire setting of this estate is breathtaking, despite the pouring rain when we arrived for lunch. Small menu however selected cuisine. Disappointing choice of fish for the day which was hake, for a Restuarant of this calibre.

Our party had the rib eye steak which was excellent together with the accompaniments. We shared the dessert of Malva pudding with a modern twist which was a refreshing take on an old classic, with a marshmallow ice cream.

Coffee was also good.

Only downfall for the experience of the day, was the service which we received, as we found the waitrons rather arrogant and nonchalant and we had a total five waiters who served us. Lack of consistency on this aspect of our dining experience was disappointing for an establishment of this calibre.

Prices are reasonable for lunch menu and fair wine list selection although on the slightly pricey side.

Would like to go back in summer to really appreciate exterior ambience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Breathtaking and outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The drive through the estate to the restaurant is splendid - fynbos on one side and trimmed hedges on the other side; 360 degree views of Stellenbosch and Somerset West plus white picket fences for the magnificent horses . The restaurant and gallery and wine tasting area are ultra modern yet warm . The gallery is well worth a visit as is a wine tasting . Our lunch was magnificent from the bread and red wine infused butter to the lemon and lime macaroons at the end . We had a range of starters from corn chowder and sashimi to a garden salad . Expertly presented and very tasty . For mains we had the hake , rump and aubergine dishes. Yet again delicious and superbly displayed. We managed only one dessert but it was memorable - rocky road Malva pudding with marshmallow ice cream . Enough said !!! Perfect service by friendly , well dressed and unobtrusive staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bistro menu is sublime !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Cavalli has it all and the Equus restaurant and is not only a restaurant but a work of art ! The food excellent and amazing value money . Not only great food but an excellent destination . The warehouse red wine is also a must on the wine shelf .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
“"Designer food"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Now I know what designer food tastes like..and what better way to have experienced Cavalli than with family on Mother's day. I would describe our day there as a taste of pure luxury, a feast for the eyes and delight of all the senses. Indulge in a culinary adventure on fine dining Sundays...you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unbridled2013, Manager at Equus Restaurant at Cavalli Stud and Wine Farm, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Backpackbabe2013, thank you for taking the time out to post such a wonderful review! We love hearing from our guests about their special experiences! We sincerely hope to host you and your family again!
Warmest regards,
The Equus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Equus Restaurant at Cavalli Stud and Wine Farm also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Equus Restaurant at Cavalli Stud and Wine Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Equus Restaurant at Cavalli Stud and Wine Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.