We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bistro menu is sublime !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Equus Restaurant at Cavalli Stud and Wine Farm

Equus Restaurant at Cavalli Stud and Wine Farm
Cavalli Wine Estate | Strand Road R44, Somerset West 7129, South Africa
+27 21 855 3218
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Led by talented local chef Henrico Grobbelaar, Cavalli's approach to cuisine can be described as 'a contemporary take on the classics', contextually driven, and encompassing a combination of freshness, flavour and flair. Real, humble food cooked textbook style, paired with an expertly crafted local and international wine list, artisanal cocktail, craft beer and a notable selection of single malt whiskeys. Herbs and a selection of vegetables on the menu are grown in the Estate's self sustained heirloom garden. The restaurant is set to establish itself as a premier fine dining destination locally and internationally and is now open for lunch and dinner 4 days a week, Wednesday through Saturday for relaxed, generous Bistro lunch and Fine-Dining Dinner and Sunday Fine-Dining Lunch.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bistro menu is sublime !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Cavalli has it all and the Equus restaurant and is not only a restaurant but a work of art ! The food excellent and amazing value money . Not only great food but an excellent destination . The warehouse red wine is also a must on the wine shelf .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    19
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
“"Designer food"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Now I know what designer food tastes like..and what better way to have experienced Cavalli than with family on Mother's day. I would describe our day there as a taste of pure luxury, a feast for the eyes and delight of all the senses. Indulge in a culinary adventure on fine dining Sundays...you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unbridled2013, Manager at Equus Restaurant at Cavalli Stud and Wine Farm, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Backpackbabe2013, thank you for taking the time out to post such a wonderful review! We love hearing from our guests about their special experiences! We sincerely hope to host you and your family again!
Warmest regards,
The Equus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Gastronomical Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

A great day out. The gallery offers a interesting and well thought out collection of some of South Africa's up and coming contemporary artists. Also on view are some South African masters from the owners personal collection. If you are interested in sports memorabilia, just peep through one of the side doors off the gallery and you'll see items from Rocky Marciano's gloves to a 1906 Springbok Cap!

The Resturant really offers a gastronomical treat. The chef takes your tastebuds for a trip, very difficult to forget. A well thought out menu, with most of the produce coming from the estates garden. The view across the dam to the surrounding mountains are accentuated by the simple, but yet pleasing architecture. From what they say, one of the few carbon neutral estates in SA. Well worth a visit!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Lure, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A symphony for pallet and eyes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The position and beauty of the surroundings was a given, but what the owners of the estate made out of it over the years that it took to establish the gardens and the buildings can only be highly commended and appreciated by those who will be visitors to this magnificent part of the most spectacular wine lands in the world.
The architecture is superb and in spite of the minimalism, or perhaps because of it, it fits the surrounding scenery and concentrates ones views.
While the ambience of the restaurant appears almost cold at first, the clear lines and harmony as well as the selection of materials and limited colors form a complete and harmonious unit.
Every single detail has been minutely attended to and the youthful and at times unsophisticated staff give it a more natural feeling.
We had been here for dinner first, a few months after opening and though delighted, we were quite keen to experience lunch after their chance to practice a bit. The food was simply outstanding, with the salmon and beet root glaze starter. The pork belly ( without the usually over done and touch crackling) was one of the best I have tried recently while my partner's chicken was incredibly moist and flavorful. The presentations on the large dark plates were masterful.
The wine list is quite extensive and reasonably priced for a place of this caliber. We felt the same about the food, particularly as it related to the quality. Great value !,
The service was good but needs some sprucing up as a senior, experienced supervisor would add the final touch of professionalism.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Found a Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Visited the estate and dined at Equus for Lunch on a cloudy Saturday afternoon.
The welcome was very warm including the cosy fire place.
The selection on the Lunch menu was very accommodating.
I was overwhelmed at the quality and taste of the food.
We enjoyed ourselves so much that we decided to make a reservation for my Partners 30th Birthday in August,as this venue is suitable for Special occasions.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Equus Restaurant at Cavalli Stud and Wine Farm also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Equus Restaurant at Cavalli Stud and Wine Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Equus Restaurant at Cavalli Stud and Wine Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.