We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 weeks of pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willowbrook Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Willowbrook Country House to your Saves list
Willowbrook Country House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Morgenster Avenue, Somerset West 7130, South Africa (Formerly Willowbrook Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Somerset West
Ybbs an der Donau, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“2 weeks of pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

There are not many places where we felt so welcome, loved and relaxed -almost as in
our own families. There are only 12 rooms, we had the beautiful suite with nearly 80 m2
and our own terrasse and garden. It was our second stay (after 2004) and the team consisting mainly of Lisa, Marie, Marlè, Maggie and Duane (Top Sommelier!) gave us
the warmest possible welcome (and the sadest possible good bye, close to tears !)
Small, clean swimming pool, no crowds, no animation, no hectic (so please avoid this place,
if you want action, loud music and night live).
Very good restaurant (closed on Sundays) with reasonable prices. Indoors and outdoors.
Golf courses nearby. Top vineyards nearby, actually VERGELEGEN is next door, 15 min walk. Great stay, geat hospitality, friendliness wich comes from inside !
Looking forward to our next stay !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
67
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Booked this hotel 3 days prior to arrival,mainly due to good reports on tripadvisor.On arrival after 7 hour drive could not locate any person at reception after 5 minute wait.
decided to take a look around this property while awaiting staff member.Initial impression that 4 stars and 1600 Rand per room per night was high as, in my view the hotel and surrounds are in a need of a freshen up and were a little dated.However after the drive etc decided that we would stay.
On returning to reception we met a staff member in an apron coming from the kitchen area.We advised him that we would like to check in.He came to reception and looked up our reservation which was made directly with the hotel and acknowledged by the manageress.The reservation was however not the problem,it was when we asked to book a table for dinner that the gentleman advised us that the restaurant was for the exclusive use of a wedding party that evening and that we were the only guests staying who were not attached to the wedding group.When I asked where we could eat he suggest room service or that he could set up a table "somewhere nice"
This was totally unnacceptable and I requested that he refund my payment and I would seek alternate accomodation,even though this was the last thing I wished to to.He said he could not refund my payment.I asked for the manager and he stated that she was gone home.I then asked for the phone number of the owner/manager so that I could call them.He left the reception and 3 minutes later came back with a very pleasant lady who introduced herself as the manager,I believe Marie was her name
She apologised and also offered us room service or a table in the garden.
Filled with apprehension of being left alone to our own devices at the table while the staff served the wedding party,I respectfully declined and said that if the manageress would return my payment,I would seek alternate accomodation.She did agree and even called a local hotel that I was familiar with and made a reservation which we then
drove to.
This should not have happened.On making the reservation,we should have been advised that this large group had almost exclusive use of the hotel,and I would not have even considered going there as the primary attraction was the restaurant.
A very sorry experience all round.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willowbrook31, Owner at Willowbrook Country House, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We were very disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent brief visit to Willowbrook.
However after talking with the Lodge Manager which was on duty on the evening of your arrival, I would like to clarify a few points.

When you arrived at our premises a very clear printed sign was hanged on the reception door asking guests to please use the Restaurant entrance, 20 mtr. far away, and a very common practice during service times.

I am very surprised to read that you consider "our surroundings and hotel in need of a freshen up" since you never even wanted to enter the room you had booked and only wandered around our stunning gardens, that won us many praises and are the delight of our many loyal repeater guests.

Upon check in you were informed by the Restaurant Manager that that evening we would be hosting a small wedding function for 17 people, the party occupying only 1 of the 3 available dining rooms.
When the Lodge Manager was called to reception in order to assist you with your disappointment at not being able to sit with the other patrons in the same room, she offered you and your wife the alternative of a table in another dining room, one in our very popular gardens, room service and even offered to reserve a table in another restaurant in the area.

Instead you decided you didn’t want to check in your room at all and wanted to move to another accommodation altogether.

I assure you that the attentive and professional level of service we offer in our restaurant would have not been compromised by a small party of 17 people, and we were sorry that you didn't want to give us a chance to prove this to you.

The Lodge Manager therefore proceeded to search and book for an alternative accommodation for you and agreed to refund your deposit paid, something - I am sure you can appreciate - was an extremely friendly and professional way to handle an unpleasant situation.

We are genuinely sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us and would like to extend an invitation to come and dine at our D'Vine Restaurant - as our guest - the next time you are in this beautiful part of the world. I am sure you will not be disappointed.

Kindest regards

Lisa Benini
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

A beautiful boutique hotel, staff are so accommodating and friendly and the food excellent. Only a one night stay for us but a lovely one at that!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We spent three days at Willowbrook Lodge in December and were overwhelmed by the hospitality. Very friendly staff, excellent room and delightful gardens make this out of the way de-luxe guest house a real find in the Somerset West region of the Western Cape.
On the Sunday we arrived their restaurant was not open and they worked hard to find us somewhere reasonable to have dinner.

We dined in one evening and were also impressed witth the "Devine" restaurant which serves good quality food and has a good wine list too.

We would have no hestitation in going back next time we are in the area and our thanks are extended to Lis anad her team.

Room Tip: All rooms set in tranquil gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The kitchen is one of the best. We went to luxuriousness restaurants such as Rubens in Franshhoek but we preferred the restaurant back in the hotel. The people are very nice and helpful, that's why we went back for the second time this year. The location is also a plus.

In all, we had a very, very good stay and plan to go back next year!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

If you're looking for the perfect location to relax and enjoy the best of the south african winelands atmosphere, than this is the choice.
Every morning we wondered if to stay in and simply enjoy the beautiful garden or go out and discover the gorgeous south african sights.
Kindness and efficiency of the staff will ensure you a pleasant stay. They helped us in a ny situation.
We cannot complain on anything, really: the restaurant worths more than a try, the accommodation is just perfect, countryside with all the comfort. We'll be back.
Only limit is you must have a car, so not a choice if you wish to be "in the middle of action".

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We arrived on a late night flight from Europe and had no problem gaining entry to our suite at Willowbrook Lodge, having given them fair warning of our late arrival. We were in need of a good sleep and the comfortable accommodation was perfect. We were so impressed with the friendliness and exceptional service that we chose Willowbrook Lodge to cater for us when we celebrated our "Blessing of Marriage Vows" with 40 guests later on that month. The attentiion to detail was much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willowbrook Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbrook Country House

Address: Morgenster Avenue, Somerset West 7130, South Africa (Formerly Willowbrook Lodge)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Willowbrook Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willowbrook Country House offers luxury accommodation in an idyllic, private and secluded country setting amidst lush gardens in the quiet residential town of Somerset West in the Western Cape, South Africa. Owner Lisa will welcome you and personally make sure that your stay at Willowbrook Country House is a superb experience. Our location offers the advantage of being in close proximity to the tourist hot spots of the area, pristine golf courses, sandy beaches, the Cape winelands and popular towns including Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Franschhoek and Hermanus. Willowbrook Country House also offers an exquisite dining experience – the D’Vine Restaurant, voted among the top 100 in South Africa. Our garden setting next to the river is also ideal for intimate private functions such as weddings and smaller conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Willowbrook Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbrook Country House Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willowbrook Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.