We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner for 6” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opa Greek Taverna

Opa Greek Taverna
171 Main Road, Somerset West 7140, South Africa
021 851 2618
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 84 Restaurants in Somerset West
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Dinner for 6”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

On arrival the place was pumping, which was great to see as the previous restaurant in this spot did not do well. Unfortunately this impacted on the service and we waited an hour and a half for our Meze platter to arrive, with the result we were starving when it did eventually arrive, so perhaps filled ourselves too much and did not have much space left for the main course. The food was delicious though, both starter and main.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Ok Taverna for Somerset West but not the real deal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My main concern with Opa is the food that is very average to be polite. Ok so the waiters are witty attentive and friendly (some a bit over the top) and apparently good atmosphere but if the food lacking the establishment will battle to sustain long term.

We visited on a Friday afternoon and was only table bar two others.....

Tapas starter (recommended by waiter) was ok but def nothing more.

My baby chicken as main was tasteless the fillet as mains got zero raving reviews neither did the lamb shank.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere food ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

First impressions were very good..........staff very attentive and friendly. Owner chatted to us and recommended the Moussaka which was freshly made. 3 of us were tempted and ordered.......service was quick but the stainless steel small roasting pans containing the food were cold and the moussaka was cold and we all had to send it back to be reheated! Not good. We did complain but no one came back to see us about it not very good! Belly dancing was fun and created a good atmosphere. Good location and will maybe go back and give it another go!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous vibe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

What an enjoyable evening. Food is so so. Belly dancer so so. BUT the ambience. The vibe. The absolute friendliness! By the owner, manager, the waiters! Even to the point of over familiarization. ,! Very noisy, not your typical romantic evening. But a blast!! Just what the doctor ordered for a evening out in such miserable weather. I loved this restaurant. Don't go if you want to have an intense conversation. Don't go if you want fancy food. But DO go if you want a fun filled evening. Safe parking also makes for a carefree visit..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy & delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Went to Opa on the weekend... After a Saturday filled with wedding venue meetings; my sister and I were left tired, hungry and in need of a beverage. We came across Opa and decided to have some lunch - the restaurant is in a beautiful setting, outdoor area is gorgeous (even with the weather being pretty terrible on the weekend) and the inside has a very simple, clean Greek taverna feel. We ordered 2 of their recommended craft draft beers (just what we needed)! We then requested the waiters bring us a meze selection of their best dishes and boy were we happy we did... From the delicious dips, to the tasty souvlaki, to the yummy calamari - everything was really good and just what our hungry bellies needed! Chilled vibe, great service - definitely worth a try! Will be back...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opa Greek Taverna also viewed

 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Opa Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opa Greek Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.