We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy Lizzards - the view, the peace, the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Lizzards Accomodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somerset West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy Lizzards Accomodation
Save
You added Lazy Lizzards Accomodation to your Saves list
5 Rue la Havre | Montclaire, Somerset West 7130, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lazy Lizzards - the view, the peace, the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I spent two wonderful weeks at Lazy Lizzards. Despite arriving on a late flight and getting there around 11pm, Hans was there to greet us, show us the basics and left us to it. Anja and Hans were terrific hosts. Our cottage was spacious, clean and boasted a gorgeous view of the mountains. If you are not familiar with the area, in your cottage there are plenty of brochures, leaflets and maps for places to eat, tour, or go for an adventure. The bookshelves also have a nice eclectic mix of reading material if you just want to chill. Having a secure place to park our hire car was also a bonus. We would highly recommend LL to all for a relaxing stay in a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazylizzards, Owner at Lazy Lizzards Accomodation, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thanks Guys , Always good to know that our guests are happy. It was so nice to meet you both. such a small world. All the best . Thanks Anja and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I spent 4 nights at Lazy Lizard recently as I had to do some work in Somerset West. I found it such a fabulous place to stay, it was a real home away from home and as I wanted to be self sufficient and do my own catering it suited me perfectly. I has everything that I needed and was more than comfortable. The garden is beautiful and it was very relaxing to sit on the cozy cushioned bench on my little verandah and watch the birds after a hard days work! Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazylizzards, Owner at Lazy Lizzards Accomodation, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks Jane. Always good to hear that your guests are happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We recently stayed at lazylizzards and had the most amazing time there . It was so well located to all the tourist attractions that we wanted to see. We visited wine farms and Strand and Gordons Bay beaches close by without having to spend hours in traffic and beautiful scenic drives. Back in our comfortable cottage we enjoyed the stunning mountain views and on days when Iwe chose to stay in our "new home from home" Anja had prepared a breakfast basket with lovely fruits and muffins. The cottage was safe and very comfortable, with a beautiful tranquil garden and swimming pool. Anja was always ready with advise for the area and was super helpful with everything. We will definitely be back and highly recommend this laid back and relaxing accomodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Having arrived in the Cape for a film shoot, I had the pleasure of staying at lazy lizzards.
The place is clean, fresh, colourful and has a lovely vibe. I was made to feel total relaxed and comfortable. The cottage has DSTV, wifi and a much appreciated laundry. At night there was a beautiful silence with only the hooting of an owl which Anja comfirmed sometimes comes to visit. From the deck there is an amazing view of the Helderberg mountain range. Lazy Lizzards is centrally located for business and tourist attractions. I would like to thank Anja for her hospitality and lovely place and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazylizzards, Owner at Lazy Lizzards Accomodation, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks guys it was a pleasure to have some of film crew . We hope you will make use of lazy lizzards again in the futute.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A friend and I stayed at Lazy Lizards for a month in November last year while working at the provincial hospital nearby. The accommodation provided is exceptionally clean, safe and private all within a friendly and tranquil environment. Lazy Lizards provides free WIFI, use of a lock up garage, BBQ and pool areas with views extending from the Hottentots-Holland Mountains to Gordons bay. Despite all of these attributes, the hospitality provided by Anja and Hans during our stay was by far the most memorable part of our time in Somerset West. As tourists keen to tightly pack weekends with activities and limited time during the week to research, Anja's and Hans’ constant guidance proved essential to the enjoyment of our downtime. Lazy Lizards is optimally placed to explore the hundreds of Stellenbosch wineries, Cape Town and the breathtaking scenery of the Western Cape; it has my strongest recommendation.

Blake - Sydney, Australia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazylizzards, Owner at Lazy Lizzards Accomodation, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thanks Guys . It was great having you stay here , I enjoyed your company. I am happy that the travel advise turn out so well. Regards Anja and Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy Lizzards Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Lizzards Accomodation

Address: 5 Rue la Havre | Montclaire, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LAZY LIZZARDS accommodation offers affordable, modern, vibrant and relaxed self-catering units or B&B. Enjoy all the comforts of home, ideally located in an upmarket area in Somerset West with stunning mountain views. We are close to major attractions such as beaches, shopping centers, wine farms and Scenic drives, all the major attractions that the Western Cape has to offer. We have 3 options. The cottage: which sleeps 2 to 4. The bedsitter: sleeps 2 and the House for long term rentals: slepps 6 - 8. All have a open-plan Lounge, Dinning area and fully equip Kitchenette. Decking area with pool and braai offers stunning views, Private entrance with a secluded courtyard with koi pond. TV with DSTV, Internet access, underfloor heating & Fan, A laundry and secure parking. Amenities for all units offer: Balcony / Patio and decking area with braai and seating/dinning area. Dial-up Internet, DSTV, Satellite TV, WIFI. High Speed Internet & Internet. On suite bathrooms.New Double and single beds. Linens & Towels Provided.Fridge / Freezer,Iron, Kettle, Toaster.Electric grill, microwave, stove. Shared Outdoor Pool with beautiful garden and ponds.Secure undercover parking with remote access. Owner on Property and Maid service ( daily if requested)Stereo System, underfloor heating,heaters and fan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lazy Lizzards Accomodation Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Lizzards Accomodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.