We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Escapes-Cellar and Vineyard Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours - Private Tours

Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours - Private Tours
13 Nerina Avenue, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
834532670
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wine Escapes was born out of a love for South Africa, its great wine and a passion to share our wine culture and heritage. Our vision is thus to partner with various wine farms in building South Africa's reputation as a wine destination of choice. To do this we offer specialized, exclusive wine tours where guests are introduced to some of the best Estates and wines, whilst providing them with excellent service and hospitality.
Northport, Alabama, United States
1 review
“Wine Escapes-Cellar and Vineyard Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband, daughter and I recently had the pleasure of going on the Wine Escapes Vineyard Tour. Our guide, John, not only picked us up at our hotel, but also dropped us at our next hotel destination at the end of our tour. John made us feel very comfortable and geared the tour to our tastes. We never dreamed we would get such an education in just a day.

The landscapes of these vineyards is spectacular. It is a memory that we will never forget.

Nancy and Dave Sandy

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours - Private Tours, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was a great pleasure showing your family around our vineyards and we are so glad you enjoyed the experience and our wines. Enjoy finding more South African Shiraz's back home!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Everything you need to know about South African wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My parents and I had a lovely Saturday with Wine Escapes. John (our guide) took us on a private tour to various wine estates around Stellenbosch and surrounding areas. He was gregarious, kind, and extremely knowledgable about wine. He was able to explain aspects of the vineyards (grapes, soil, farming techniques), barreling and fermenting, and tasting. We were able to go to four different vineyards (one for lunch). He created a personalized schedule for us based on our preference for red wine and also our love of cheese.

He not only catered to what we wanted-- but also gave us new insights about wines that we never knew that we would like!

On top of his knowledge of wine, he also gave us valuable historical information about the area as we drove around.

The price of the tour was incredibly reasonable-- it included all of our transportation and wine tasting fees. John also had great relationships with the various owners and servers at the estates-- and we were able to get some special treatment because of him.

This was definitely the highlight of our stay in Stellenbosch and I highly recommend the experience to anyone staying in the area. An incredible value for a lovely day full of information, beautiful views, and delicious wine!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours - Private Tours, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always a lovely experience introducing our guests to some of the best South Africa offers. We are so glad you enjoyed your day, learnt about our wines and hopefully can find some when you are back home!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopstoke, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wine Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and me enjoyed a brilliant day in the Cape Winelands courtesy of our tour with Wine Escapes. Our guide John, picked us up from our hotel in the morning and took us on an exclusive tour, tailored to our specific wine tastes and interests.

We visited two vineyards in the morning, and then a third for lunch, finishing the day with a cheese-and-wine pairing. It was great having John as our guide, he has great passion and knowledge for wine and was able to answer all of our questions and provided great insights into the workings and histories of the vineyards we visited as well as the wines we tasted.

As for the wines we got to taste: Wow! It's a great touch by Wine Escapes to take on board your wine preferences prior to organising the tour. As a result we got to taste some incredible examples of the wines we like (including the best Shiraz in the world - which was pretty much worth the cost of the tour on its own!!), as well as examples of wines we might not have previously considered but that were a good match to our palate nonetheless.

In my opinion there is no better way of exploring the Cape Winelands than a tour with Wine Escapes. The tour was informative, relaxed, personal and exclusive and John was an excellent guide; friendly, knowledgeable and engaging. If you like wine, and you're visiting South Africa, a tour with them is a must and will certainly be top of our itinerary should we ever visit again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours - Private Tours, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is always such fun introducing our guests to our South African Wines, we are spoilt to have such great wines on our doorstep!! We are so glad you enjoyed your day and look forward to seeing you again in our beautiful Winelands!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A top of the line wine tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We took a tour with Wine Escapes in early March. I cannot point out a single thing that was not top notch on the tour. John (the guide) was friendly, fun, punctual and last but not least very knowledgeable, not only about the wine related things but also the history of the surroundings. We definitely think this was value for money and would recommend it for anyone who enjoys wine and is willing to learn and have fun.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours - Private Tours, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and for spending part of your holiday in Africa with us. A day spent in the Winelands is always great fun and we are so glad you enjoyed it. We hope you enjoy our wines when you get home and hope to see you in South Africa again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent trip around the vineyards of South Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Wine Escapes give you a tailor made trip to suit your tastes, they are flexible on timings and take you to explore the smaller vineyards in the area rather than the large coach trip ones.
John was a great guide with lots of knowledge about the wine industry in South Africa, easy conversation and gave us lots of information without it being overload. The places we visited were fabulous and the wines delightful.The booklet in the gift bag for making notes on the wines you are tasting was a really nice touch. I will definitely go again next time I go to Cape Town.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours - Private Tours, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and for those beautiful pictures. We are truly blessed to be able to show off our incredible Winelands to our guests. Look forward to seeing you again when you are back in SA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours - Private Tours also viewed

 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.