We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Stables at Vergelegen

The Stables at Vergelegen
Vergelegen | Lourensford Road, Somerset West, South Africa
+27 21 847 1334
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 71 Restaurants in Somerset West
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Enjoy the simplicity of dining out at the "Stables at Vergelegen". Classic, with a modern twist, the 'bistro' style restaurant offers a varied, contemporary menu of simple and visually delectable dishes for a relaxed, family friendly dining experience. Whilst sipping on award-winning wines, enjoy breath-taking views of the Hottentots Holland mountain range and soak up the creative juices of the varied and eclectic local artists whose art works adorn the walls. (Breakfast and lunch served Monday - Sunday).
The Entrance, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

After a 4 week break in SA this was our only bad culinary experience. We stayed just up the hill from Vergelegen and were looking forward to the friday tapas that I booked for our first full day. The estate is beautiful and atmospheric, the restuarant is well designed, airy and looks the buisness. It has a great view of the mountains. It was almost empty despite having to book and our 2 young kids were welcomed. I understood that the Lady Phillips restaurant had a great reputation.
Unfortunately those days seem to have passed. Not only was the food of poor quality and expensive for the small portions that were presented - the chickn kebabs were raw. Unfortunatley we only noticed this after taking a bite and immediately sent it back. An apology was offered but 5 minutes later the same kebabs turned up again after a bit longer on the Braai!!
We left these and if we hadnt just got off the plane would have made more of a fuss. The rest of the Tapas was edible - the best bit was the breads - but all in all a poor effort. Wines and general service were ok.
Of course 24 hours later and we were on antibiotics - both of us. Luckily the kids didnt eat the chicken!
If this establishment wants to get a reputation for its food and not just as a pretty place to sit and have a drink or wine tastings then some serious work is needed. You have been warned!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    57
    12
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“lovely lazy afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

often one wants to find a place to wine, dine and enjoy the afternoon away with your family.
this is one of those kind of places.
the estate is well kept and a very pleasant stroll to walk of the meal
good enough to visit again

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordons Bay
1 review
“Lack of plating skills”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

You could hardly get a more beautiful setting with architecture to compliment.The same goes for the service and the cooking skills of the chef. BUT whether you order a lamb kebab (I did) or a fillet or a sandwich or fish or a burger - every dish looks the same with a small bowl of chips on the side. Surely we have progessed beyond "steak & chips". The lack of plating skills was really disappointing in an establishment that have so much going for it. I also thought R135 for a single kebab (perfectly grilled though) was a bit steep.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A new spin on an old favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The popular old Lady Philips restaurant at Vergelegen is being refurbished, so for the time being this is the only restaurant on this lovely estate (there is also the Rose Terrace Cafe, thuogh, for more casual dining). Opinions differ on the new structure: it tries to combine the feel of thatch-and-beams with clean modern textures and surfaces -- not entirely successfully, in my view, but then, as I say, opinions differ. The central room, in particular, lacks cohesion and character, serving parlty as reception area, partly as souvenir shop, and partly as restaurant. Here, too, the atmosphere is ruined by loud and inappropriate music. Tip: ask for an outside table, weather permitting, or a table in the side room, which is blessedly music-free. After those gripes: the food is excellent, with a more interesting selection than the Lady Philips ever had. I had a superb butternut pizza, with a paper-thin crust and a very lavish filling. One of my companions pronounced her butternut salad one of the best salads she'd ever eaten, and another loved the linefish. Service is cordial and congenial, and the wine is the excellent Vergelegen range. Lunch only, though tapas are served on Friday, Saturday and Sunday evenings. Booking essential.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good tourist venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012 via mobile

New restaurant beautifully furnished but very sterile. Great for the tourist lunch and breakfast

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stables at Vergelegen also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to The Stables at Vergelegen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stables at Vergelegen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.