We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful beef espetada” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Valdez

Casa Valdez
Corner of Main and Van der Byl streets, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
27218526817
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 71 Restaurants in Somerset West
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful beef espetada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The ambiance is comfortable and friendly and I have found that the beef espetada is consistently good. The waiters are always friendly but the service is often quite slow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Strand, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Nice and cosy . Don't have the Prego steak roll . It is a tenderised piece of meat with anything but a Prego sauce that is really disappointing. The Espetadas holds little resemblance to the quality that was served couple of years ago. I gave it a second chance after the last disappointing encounter. I guess its ...Goodbye.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Tavern,Good food and Vibe.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My friends and I went to have dinner at the Casa Valdez. We had prawns,Ribs and Chincharda,which was lovely.We had a lovely bottle of Brampton Rose. I highly recommend this bottle of rose.The waiter who served us was friendly and efficiant.
Thank you Casa Valdez you will see us again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“a real taverna, good food and vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Lovely little place with a lot of character; My wife and I had very tasty portuguese peri peri chicken (if I have to criticize, then it could have been a bit more crispy); the kids calamari strips were just OK (they didn't finish it). The sticky toffee pudding was so divine it nearly caused a family riot (because we decided to share).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere in this place as we stopped by without knowing what kind of place it was. We were lucky to be early enough not to need a reservation. The hostess was helpful to recommend good meals for the children, and the waiters were very nice. I liked the simplicity of the menu.The food was good -be warned by the piri piri sauce! and fairly authentic. I would recommend this place also for a large group because the acoustics are such that you're not easily bothered by other tables' noise levels.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Valdez also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Casa Valdez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Valdez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.