We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Grill - CLOSED

Riverside Grill
171 Main Road, Somerset West, South Africa
021 851 2618
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Continental, Contemporary, Grill
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Somerset West
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We have been to the Riverside Grill a couple of times now, and we are really starting to like this place.

The restaurant is nicely located in the center of Somerset West. It offers an upstairs bar, restaurant area and nice terrace.

Upon arrival you will experience a warm welcome from host and owner Andreas, assisted by his friendly staff. The menu is rather limited, especially the starters, but there are specials offered on a chalk board. Something we initially didn’t know, so bear this in mind in case your waiter forgets to mention it. Food quality is great and prices are reasonable. We had amongst others good antipasti platters and mussels for starters, and hamburgers and fillet steaks for a main course, which are always cooked to perfection. The first time we ate there we ‘surprised’ them with our request of crispy chips and mayonnaise with our mains, but ever since we don’t even have to ask anymore. That’s what we call running a service minded operation. The wine list is not extensive but does offer a nice selection for everyone’s taste and budget.

We are glad with this very welcome addition to the Somerset restaurant scene.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were taken here by locals for a birthday celebration on Friday evening. We sat outside by the beautiful river. The food was incredible the prawn spring rolls and creamy garlic rose wine infused mussels were out of this world. I had the fillet with a side of cream spinach again the flavour of the meat from the speciality basting was suberb, the creamed spinach complemented the dish really well. No room for Dessert but the rest of the table were in heaven when describing how light and flavoursome the tirramisu was. This was a ten out of ten dinning expercience. Great wine list too.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You have to go there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We have eaten there several times and it has never disappointed. Last week I ordered a special, namely oxtail. It was succulent, not fatty (I detest fat on my food) and had plenty of veggies (which I also love). Wonderful ambience - in the evening this time - looking down on a few lazy ducks snoozing beside the water - with soft lighting and pleasant music. We love to eat out regularly. I am quite a fussy eater, and my husband is far worse! If we love it, I don't think you'll be disappointed for a minute. A really special place, with special people and very good service.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“An absolutely awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Lovely atmosphere, sat in a beautiful garden very tranquil space,all the different dishes that was had by the family was beautifully presented and a give them 10/10 for taste.
The owners are very warm and friendly and visit all the tables themselves which makes one feel very special, and all in all a lovely lunch experience. Will definately be back. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Weran out of this. We went for a function in Dec. We had all pre-ordered and when qwe arrived the waiters tried to take our orders again. Waited too long, food arrived cold and I mean cold....cold lambs liver is not nice! When it was returned to us it was still not hot. Others had ordered chicken dishes and they ran out of chicken!! Surely if you know how many have pre-ordered you have enough in stock! Was not impressed with the food or service but the surroundings are very nice.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverside Grill also viewed

 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.