We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really can not understand why one would go there” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Waters Seafood & Sushi Restaurant

Blue Waters Seafood & Sushi Restaurant
Cnr Main & Van Der Byl Road | S 34'05'48. 4. E 18'51'06. 5, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
+27(0)21 852 8012
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 84 Restaurants in Somerset West
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Really can not understand why one would go there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I read the reviews below and had to check the pictures to see if we are referring to the same establishment. Really poor uninterested sometimes borderline rude service.

Sushi portions to big for my liking and honestly far from the best sushi I have had. Non of the meals ordered was anything special. To top in all - quite pricey compared to other similar restaurants!

Inside of the restaurant nothing to write home about nor the area in which it is situated.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Hardly ever fails to impress!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Another wonderful evening at Blue Waters on Saturday! The sushi is always so fresh (no conveyor belt here!!!), the staff so friendly! It doesn't matter if you are on your own, or in a crowd, you are always made to feel welcome.
One of the best recommendations is that we always see regulars there, people just keep coming back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The newly renovated restaurant was on top of it's game. The kingklip was exceptional and the sushi really good. You can certainly give this one a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went to Blue Waters several times - and every time the food just blew me away. If you have a taste for it, do try the grilled calamari as a starter and the kingclip in any of the variations on the menu. The sashimi and the sushi are to die for, too, though, so the choice is a difficult one.
The service is very attentive and friendly, too, and the price is absolutely reasonable for local standards. Those were alround great evenings.

PS: Reservations can be made. If you are sensitive to aircon, bring a sweater. It is not possible to sit outside, but that didn't bother me.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always been a fan of Blue Waters Restaurant...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

but the new interior is as stunning as the food and the service. Excellent. I have never been disappointed and will always recommend it. Fresh food, superb sushi, great dishes. The staff is awesome.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Waters Seafood & Sushi Restaurant also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Blue Waters Seafood & Sushi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Waters Seafood & Sushi Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.