We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad attitude spoils it all” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cattle Baron

Cattle Baron
9 Huising Street, Somerset West, South Africa
+27(0)21 8529992
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 70 Restaurants in Somerset West
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Bad attitude spoils it all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Arriving at a restaurant one should never be ignored. Even eye contact makes the difference - and that by the person who is obviously the manager or probably the owner. Even if one does not have a booking, one should not be treated like something the cat dragged in.

And then be taken to a table so closely squashed in near the ablution facility, one could actually smell the disinfectant. We left and my rating of the food is based on a previous visit. Only reason we went back is my guest wanted to have steak and I thought my first experience was limited to that specific evening and did not expect it to recur. Wrong.

Watching diners that are obviously regulars get the 5-star smile and embrace behind you leaves one something between amused and disgusted.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great steak, longish wait for food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Having read reviews about Cattle Baron, I noted that some people complained that they sometimes had to wait long for their food. We also noted a disclaimer on the back of their menu saying it could take up to 35 minutes for main courses and to please be patient.
To expedite this, we ordered our mains, a fillet steak and Chateaubriand, at the same time when we ordered our starters.
The starters, calamari and garlic bread, was delicious, but we were surprised when the waitress afterwards came and asked if she could now bring us our plates for the buffet. The buffet?
They do have a buffet on Sundays but we had chosen to order off the menu, because while the buffet is probably delicious, we were wanting some steak, the reason for our visit to a noted steakhouse.
The waitress' question raised some questions in our minds as to whether she had in fact given our mains orders to the kitchen. Sure enough, there was quite a long wait for our food. We had first arrived at 1 and ordered not long after arrival, and were still waiting for our main courses by 2:15.
When it did arrive it was tasty, perfectly cooked and wonderfully tender. The spinach was ok, the butternut delicious. The chips were good, but nothing to write home about. The steak was the hero of the plate.
The desert was tasty. We had the creme caramel and a tartufo.
Its a pity the food service was so slow. It detracted from an enjoyable lunch and a steak to remember.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Food was reasonably priced . Great selection on menu. Cooked to perfection. Great wine selection. Efficient service. Happy Customer!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Dutchmen's paradise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a dutchmen's paradise so if you support the bulls, go for it boet. The steaks are great and the service is excellent, but bit like a chop shop.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We recently had a family meal at Cattle Baron and were extremely impressed with the quality of food. The steaks were perfect, cooked exactly to your specifications; the burger was a very good quality mince. The desserts were absolutely top class. I highly recommend the cassata: it had the perfect balance of sweet, nutty and bitter; it was light and very tasty.

The service is professional but relaxed and you feel very welcome at the restaurant.

i did find the prices to be quite high, but for superb quality food, it's a definite for a special meal out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattle Baron also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Cattle Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cattle Baron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.