We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best steakhouse in town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cattle Baron

Cattle Baron
9 Huising Street, Somerset West, South Africa
+27(0)21 8529992
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 84 Restaurants in Somerset West
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The best steakhouse in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We are resident in Somerset West and visit Cattle Baron from time to time. They certainly serve the best steaks in town and the Sunday Buffet is value for money with a tasty selection of dishes. Service might be a little slow, but makes up for it in the quality of food served. A big plus is the free corkage, bread and vegetables served with each meal. Well worth visiting!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Food but does take some time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

2nd visit. Good food, but takes about an hour from order to getting food if you dont have starters. 1st occasion they said our order was after a large group and 2nd occassion we were told food taking long as they fully booked! 2nd visist food arrviced after an hour, my wife had to go fetch veggies that come with dish

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food but a little small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Aazing steaks here really enjoyed the food. The only thing i would say is the restaurant seems a little crowded. Not of people its just quite small.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visit quite regularly and food is always superb. Free bread and vegetables with your mains, NO corkage fee which is very rare in my experience. The steaks are fairly priced for me the best value

Service can be slow at times but not that bad that I would stop going.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset west
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Always the same good standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Cattle Baron is just round the corner from where we live. The standard is always good, and extremely good value. Bread and corkage are free, as are the vegetables. Steaks always the same great standard.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cattle Baron also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Cattle Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cattle Baron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.