We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steffanie's Place

Steffanie's Place
113 Irene Avenue, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
021 852 7584
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent dinner on a rainy, cool evening. Although the weather was not conducive to outside dining, the view must be magnificent on a clear warm evening.
The diverse menu was beautifully presented and each dish flavourful and unique. The service was attentive, friendly and very competent. A really good find! We all enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Steffanie's Place, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review, we really appreciate it and are glad you enjoy dining at us. We hope to see you soon again, warmest regards, The "Steffanies Team"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    71
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Steffanie's Place never disappoints. It is an unpretentious restaurant, with a great menu, fabulous service and stunning views from the terrace. The ingredients used are always fresh, and the meals are always well presented, and beautifully served. One of my favorite dishes is the Duck in sweet chili sauce - very special. We have been going to Steffanie's for 15 years now, and despite all the new restaurants that have opened in our area during this period, we keep going back to Steffanie's. Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Steffanie's Place, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for the great review. It is always a total pleasure to serve you and we look forward to your next visit. Have a great day, warm regards, The "Steffanies Team"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kloten, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a true value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Still an outstanding place for fine dining. The view is as spectacular as ever, the food superb and the service lively and friendly. However we miss the personal touch of Chef Werner Vögeli who used to make the rounds and had a friendly word for everybody. The young ones seem to lack that touch, we experienced on several occassions. There is room for improvement but otherwise highly recommendable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Steffanie's Place, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is always a pleasure serving you and we assure you Werner will be in the house on your next visit. Warm regards, The "Steffanies Team"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This little restaurant offers an amazing atmosphere and the menu is so diverse with something to please every palette. The mussels with French fries were the best I have every tasted!!! Werner the owner is the most delightful character, the staff are friendly and service excellent! Highly recommended!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Steffanie's Place, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and the great review, truly appreciated and we look forward to your next visit. The "Steffanie's Team"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Would happily return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

If I could, I would rate this restaurant as 3.75. Not quite 'very good' for this fussy guest, but definitely better than average. The view from the patio is lovely, and, once it has opened for summer, would be recommended over dining indoors which was very noisy. The waiter had a hard time explaining what the specials were over the noise from the tables around us. The menu is extensive, and it was difficult to choose as it all sounded tasty. The table vegetables were sufficient for only one person, which was OK because they looked really over-cooked. My meal was good but not memorable. All in all a very nice place, and definitely worth a return visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMediaSA, Public Relations Manager at Steffanie's Place, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the feed-back and we strive for perfection. We hope to impress you on your next visit to Steffanie's. Warm regards, The "Steffanie's Team"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steffanie's Place also viewed

 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Steffanie's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steffanie's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.