We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice diversion!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at Waterkloof

The Restaurant at Waterkloof
Sir Lowry's Pass Road, Somerset West, South Africa
0027+21 858 1491
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $56
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A very nice diversion!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This restaurant set in the hills overlooking False Bay provides a beautiful setting to taste some wine and enjoy delicious food. I stopped here after making my way from Franschhoek via the Franschhoek Pass and driving along R321 before joining N2 while making my way to Stellenbosch. Yes, it was the long way around, but I wanted to do some sightseeing. The Waterkloof Winery was a perfect place to enjoy a lovely glass of wine and snack on a cheese plate. I didn't eat much, but the appetizer was of excellent quality while the scenery from the outdoor deck was superb. The staff was very helpful, but the deck area could have benefited from some small tables on which to place the glasses and plates. I would have liked to have stayed longer to see what dinner might have been like because the interior of the restaurant was very cool!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    45
    22
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Average food,grumpy service,great view, bad value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

A contemporary Glass box with a great view, did not really make up for the grumpy waiters and lack of attention. For the first time in years I could not find a starter that appealed , so opted for two mains. Luckily the portions are small ! Food was the regular artistic presentation, with lots of ingredients blended into a tiny portion. Certainly not in the top 10 winelands restaurants as the pricing would indicate. Lots of better options !!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service, beautiful ambiance, well presented food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Service was excellent. Waiter Benedict was easily accessible and helped us well with any question we had about the food. Sometimes it was hard to hear what he said. The dishes were beautifully presented with lots of different tastes, structures and colours on the plates. Jerusalem artichoke was very good, but the Serrano ham was a bit common ('out of tune' I would say). The trout was excellent. Springbok with the sides on the plate was very good, presented with good, interesting flavours. Pity the knife wasn't that sharp. The hazelnut dessert was good, a bit too large to my taste, very good sponge and a nice combination with the grenadilla and the crispiness of the chocolate crisp and hazelnuts (to my taste, a bit more crispiness could have been added). We had a very good dinner in a relaxed atmosphere with excellent service and good value for money.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal in a Majestic Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The dining setting is majestic with soaring ceilings and lovely views of Somerset West. The service and food was excellent. We had been to the top restaurants Test Kitchen, Rust en Vrede and Indochine and this restaurant with its lovely setting is in the same league. Food was beautifully presented and tasty. If you are in the Somerset West area, you must book a table at this restaurant. We will return to this gem.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“On a Diet!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Beautiful location, friendly staff, quality food. Be sure to eat prior to visiting this restaurant though.

The portion sizes are so small that a cat would leave hungry.

Shall not be going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Waterkloof also viewed

 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to The Restaurant at Waterkloof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at Waterkloof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.