We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and that's it...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at Waterkloof

The Restaurant at Waterkloof
Sir Lowry's Pass Road, Somerset West, South Africa
0027+21 858 1491
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $55
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Cape Town
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and that's it...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went there for lunch, and expected a lot from this place. The view is magnificent (till the ocean); the food however is not magnificent: my quail was not hot when served and missed a sauce. The service was really poor: my son had to wait about half an hour before he got his grapetiser. When I asked for a plain Coke, a whole circus happened: at first they didn't have any (Coke!!!), then they brought me Coke Light instead of Coke Zero, and when I refused that, all of a sudden, they brought me my normal Coke. Is this a team?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    45
    22
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aix-en-Provence, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant of our whole stay in RSA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We loved this place, the restaurant looks gorgeous, the view is stunning, the service is top-notch, the wines are excellent and the food delicious. Highly recommend!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“High. High. Very High Cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Look up at the Helderberg mountains, notice a futuristic glass box projecting from the summit.It's no eagle's nest - its The Restaurant at Waterkloof - surveying the expanse of False bay and Strand from it's perch. Your vehicle climbs and climbs. Finally you arrive and enter a glass, steel and wood interior vying with the panoramic view to take your breath away.
Polished wood flooring glistens, reflecting the flames from a central open fire and its arresting black metal canopy. Look over at the open kitchen or way across to the stainless steel cylinders producing the Waterkloof Estate's wines.
But would the food match up?
After a bottle of Waterkloof sparkling white.. the starters. Wow. So beautifully presented you didn't know whether to eat it or hang it on your wall! My marinated trout slices(sushi-like) with wasabi sorbet was outstanding. After an amuse bouche -the mains. My Kudu loin (like venison) was perfect - rare, meltingly soft. But when our friend, a somerset west professional,tried her seared tuna with pistachio crust I thought she'd sat on a pin.Her face froze then broke into a smile - "That's the best tuna I've ever tasted". And she is hard to please. The accompanying Waterkloof sauvignon blanc went down too well and too fast!
Service was professional but friendly .We discover our waiter is an Arsenal supporter - but with his wide smile we didn't hold it against him.
This is excellent nouvelle cuisine- portions to be savoured, small but adequate.
Value? - great exchange rate for brits -£25 a head. Unbelievable. Best overall experience of our holiday.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Five Star Location with Four Star Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We went for a Sunday lunch to the restaurant. The restaurant is located high above with a great view of the ocean and mountains. The restaurant is very modern with lots of glass and high ceilings. Service was good.

The food was somewhat of a contradiction. It was beautifully presented but the taste was lacking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunning and Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had a fantastic night at an amasing restaurant. I was blown away by the views and the service. Food is great, but certainly not for chubby lads. Very nouvelle cuisine, but after eating gigantic steaks for a week, it was actually nice to enjoy less. I chose Springbok as I had never tried It before. It was so good. I will DEFINATELY have it again. Well done for opening my eyes to something different. Wine was very competatively priced and a good selection. Please go for a unique very pleasurable experience. I am not a tourist and travel to Cape Town on business frequently, so take my word for it, a great restaurant, stunning views and good service. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Waterkloof also viewed

 
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to The Restaurant at Waterkloof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Restaurant at Waterkloof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.