We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best yet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blaauwheim Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blaauwheim Guest House to your Saves list
Blaauwheim Guest House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   22 Bakkerskloof Road | Jonkershoogte, Somerset West 7130, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 72 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“The best yet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Ideal location for exploring wine regions, beaches, mountain coastal amenities ,
Excellent Bed/Breakfast - the best we experienced in SA. Accomodation was five star throughout. Large bedrooms, well appointed and furnished to the highest standard and top of the range bathrooms,

Johan and JO-Ann our hosts were excellent , made us feel so at home , nothing was too much to make our stay pleasent (as a result we stayed three extra days). The whole experience at BLAAUWHEIM is a must for the discerning traveller.

Room Tip: All excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear Brendan

Thanks for the glowing review! We want to make guests feel at home and add value to their experience of our wonderful country. We could not do otherwise for the two of you with your wealth of travelling experience. Come back soon!

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
93
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

...Blaauwheim, Jo-Anne and Johan Blaauwheim!They are probably the best hosts you can imagine. We had a lovely stay at their "little paradise" in Somerset West and instead of three nights we stayed for five. Starting off with great rooms, nice&comfortable beds, a luxury/deluxe bathroom and the just an extraordenary breakfast: you are ready for the day.
You don´t have to worry about anything, Johan is always willing to help you out, with roads, other guest houses, ideas, maps, restaurants or even a nice barbecue freshly prepared at "Blaauwheim"--thank you again!The moment we decide to go back to Cape Town, for another visit, it will be definately Jo-Anne and Johan we will contact first!...in order to have another great holiday!!Thank you for everything and see you soon!M&J

Room Tip: All their rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear Jen

Your review made us feel so special! First impressions count a lot and therefore we are so glad that your first visit to South Africa has been memorable. Yes, indeed, the barbecue with the ostrich fillet was a winner! But you'll have to come back to savour more of Johan's delicacies.

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We had the most awesome two nights at Blaauwheim Guesthouse.
Every need catered for.
The breakfasts were amazing as were our hosts, Johan and Jo-Anne.
Will return when next in Cape Town.
Bryan and Jane

Room Tip: We stayed in Pinotage which was stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

First of all the hosts are extremely helpful and kind. The large suites are beautiful decorated to the standards of a 5 star hotel. Comfortable settee, very good king size bed, superb bathroom with bath and spacious shower and an extra guest toilet. Many cupboards, wardrobes. Nice kitchenette etc..You name it, you have it. Everything very clean. Really perfect in every way. Almost forgot: a fabulous breakfast with a superb fruit salad !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Franny.

Thank you so much for the lovely review. To know that you have enjoyed your stay at Blaauwheim means a lot to us. It is always a pleasure for us to assist and advise our guest on what the beautiful Cape has to offer. Take care and see you again soon.

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We keep coming back! With our third stay at Blaauwheim Guesthouse and thanks to a kind upgrade this time we’ve now finished “touring” all three rooms. They are all excellent and deserve at least five stars. But we will be back for the five-star hospitality. To us Blaauwheim is the epitome of South African hospitality and an absolutely “worry free zone”. Johan and Jo-Anne do a wonderful job looking after you with the greatest naturalness which makes you feel very comfortable the moment you arrive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

On my third return, everything was exactly as I expected: fantastic hosts, beautifully appointed rooms and suites, absolutely lovely garden setting, food to die for...

Truely a five star experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

This is truly a wonderful guest house to stay. Johan and Jo Anne are exceptional hosts. The rooms and facilities are first class, everything is of the finest quality and every last little detail has been thought about and provided for. I would not hesitate in recommending this guest house to holiday and business people alike.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blaauwheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaauwheim Guest House

Address: 22 Bakkerskloof Road | Jonkershoogte, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blaauwheim Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blaauwheim Guesthouse is a luxurious upmarket retreat offering bed & breafast accommodation in Somerset West near Cape Town, South Africa. Nestled at the foot of the Helderberg Mountain in the Cape Winelands, Somerset West is a tranquil and up market suburb in Cape Town East, only 20 minutes from Cape Town International and a 40 minutes from Cape Town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, T4B, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blaauwheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blaauwheim Guest House Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blaauwheim Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.