We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blaauwheim” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blaauwheim Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blaauwheim Guest House to your Saves list
Blaauwheim Guest House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   22 Bakkerskloof Road | Jonkershoogte, Somerset West 7130, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 72 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Blaauwheim”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We loved our stay at Blaauwheim! We were married in the area - so the bridal party got ready at Blaauwheim and then we spent a few days after for the beginning of our honeymoon there - and it was fantastic!
Best breakfasts ever!
Joann and Johan are extremely sweet hosts and are willing to help with any and everything.
We would love to return for an anniversary!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
93
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

My wife and I spent an anniversary evening at Blaauwheim a couple of nights ago. We were wonderfully surprised by the beautifully appointed room which was also exceptionally spacious. A big lush garden surrounds the guest house. Service was friendly and prompt and our five star breakfast was top notch. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Prevot and Mareli

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We trust that you will always return to Blaauwheim when there is an important anniversary to celebrate or whenever you need a break. Hope to see you soon. Johan & Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Neat as a pin, very well equipped and much more spacious than anticipated.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
It goes to show that you do not have to travel the world to get away for a well deserved break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011 via mobile

Just to make sure our review gets published on this amazing property, we had to submit a review again. The rooms are out of this world, you feel like royalty from start to finish!! The attention to detail is above expectation. One of the few bathrooms with frameless glass showers and enough room in the suits to make any traveler wish they could have this at home. The mornings are even better when you sit down and have breakfast, from the beautiful prepared fruit platters to the "main" course, something I can eat morning, afternoon and for supper...it is that good!!! Well done to our hosts!! You are one of the most amazing couples we have met..thank you for making our stay unforgettable!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
May the happiness you radiated on your wedding day become the signature of your marriage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Beautifull geusthouse, among the best I stayed trough the world ! Spacious rooms, extremely comfortable and extremely clean ! Lovely garden ! They only used the best to make it the best ! Furthermore excellent breakfast and above all the excellent hospitality of Johan and Jo-Anne, they take care of everything you would like !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Thanks for the lovely review. We appreciate such considerate guests as you have been. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namibia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Everything in Blaauwheim Guesthouse is just the best. Beautifull garden, furniture and rooms. Excellent hospitality and food. Johan and Jo-Anne make you feel welcome, Blaauwheim will feel like home!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I travel quite often for business and stay in hotels and guest houses, but Blaauwheim is the best I have ever experienced. Everything is of the best quality, the linen the furniture, beautiful interior decorating with very expensive and beautiful furniture.

The food was superb - the garden stunning - the place I want to go to again and soon .. thank you very much Johan and Jo-Anne for making my working days in Cape Town feel like a holiday...

Room Tip: All the rooms in Blaauwheim are very private and quiet. The rooms are large and there is enough lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blaauwheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaauwheim Guest House

Address: 22 Bakkerskloof Road | Jonkershoogte, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blaauwheim Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blaauwheim Guesthouse is a luxurious upmarket retreat offering bed & breafast accommodation in Somerset West near Cape Town, South Africa. Nestled at the foot of the Helderberg Mountain in the Cape Winelands, Somerset West is a tranquil and up market suburb in Cape Town East, only 20 minutes from Cape Town International and a 40 minutes from Cape Town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, T4B, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Blaauwheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blaauwheim Guest House Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blaauwheim Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.