We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AlphaBed B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AlphaBed B&B to your Saves list
AlphaBed B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7 Prospect Avenue, Somerset West 7130, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 72 Somerset West B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A very comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed for two nights at Alpha B&B prior to our departure from S. Africa. The room was very comfortable and private and breakfast was very filling. Natalie, the Hostess was very welcoming and accommodating. We even had a packed breakfast prepared for us as we had to leave for the airport early in the morning. A very pleasant stay and we would recommend it...

Room Tip: The upstairs room with its own lounge area is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
15
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Very nice and comfortable rooms and bathroom.
Good and more than enough braekfast
Nice accomodation and swimmingpool.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We started our trip staying at Alphabed. Arrived with a late flight but was easy find from the airport. Rooms were pretty and bed excellent. For breakfast we only needed to step out of door on the terrace in front of our room. Romantic and sunny setting for a breakfast partly served at the table, partly self service from a table set in the kitchen. We could not wish for a better start of our holidays.
We can recoomend you visit also the Vergelegen Wine Estate close by and have lunch at the Sofia restaurant at the entrance of the Estate (belonging to a different estate-which also has a great terrace fo wine tasting with a stunning view of the mountains). Ideally: morning visit to the Vergelegen, late lunch at Sofia and afterwards wine tasting at that estate and enjoy the view (and the wine :)).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Every day started with a well-prepared breakfast with a wide choice of bread, fruist, etc. Nathalie did all she good to make our stay comfortable. The room was good, clean and the beds slept well

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

This beautiful thatched property provided an excellent base in the wine regions. The family suite was spacious, well layed out and nicely decorated. The addition of a fridge/tea and coffee making facilities was very welcome. The private garden was a pleaseant place to spend a few hours in the sun and you did not feel you were intruding.
Nathalie was the perfect hostess, nothing was too much trouble and the variety on offer for breakfast exceeded expectation.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We (couple with baby of 7 months) stayed with Alphabed one week at the end of January 2011. Our intention was to fly away from the European winter and enjoy a relaxing week in the south-african summer. Our expectation has been met 100%: The family suite in Alphabed is very comfortable, Natalie provides a tasty breakfast and the nice pool-/garden area has given us the opportunity to relax between our various touristic activities. If you look for an ideal starting point for day-trips to Capetown and food-/wine excursions to the Wineland (fantastic wineries are really nearby and Stellenbosch only 20 minutes away), Alphabed is first choice in Somerset West.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stayed during our last days of holiday at this place with our small children (13,11 en 5) and it was really nice. We were charmed by the hospitality and good advices of this family and our children by the fact that they finaly understood the language.
The place is nice and well-situated for a visit of the wine-properties and the surroundings of Cape town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to AlphaBed B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlphaBed B&B

Address: 7 Prospect Avenue, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AlphaBed B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AlphaBed offers stylish accommodation in the centre of Somerset West in a relaxed residential atmosphere on the slopes of the Helderberg Mountain. The guesthouse is surrounded by good restaurants, shops and lots of wine and golf estates. AlphaBed is surrounded by top quality wine and golf estates. South Africa's oldest wine estate 'Vergelegen' and the prestigious Golf Club 'Erinvale' are 2km from the guesthouse. Scenic routes take you in no time to the other Cape Wineland towns as Stellenbosch, Paarl and Franschhoek. Whale watching in Hermanus and tours to the townships are perfectly arranged from our guesthouse. AlphaBed is your ideal basis for day trips to Cape Town, the V A Waterfront, the botanical gardens and Robben Island. This charming guesthouse offers stylish rooms, each comprising an en-suite bathroom and patio/lounge overlooking the swimming pool and beautiful garden. A large suite of two rooms, privately situated on the first floor, can be booked to accommodate families with children or groups up to 4 people. Your day at AlphaBed starts with a generous and varied breakfast, which can be enjoyed at your patio or in the rondavel of the house with a fireplace. All rooms have - tea and coffee facility- cotton linen- towels -hairdryer -fridge-flat screen TV -DSTV (satellite TV)-DVD-safe -free wireless internet-Belgian chocolates are offered on the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AlphaBed B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AlphaBed B&B Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AlphaBed B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.