We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned service and convenience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH The Lord Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH The Lord Charles to your Saves list
NH The Lord Charles
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Main Road (M9) & Broadway Boulevard (R44), Somerset West 7130, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Somerset West
Strand, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned service and convenience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Lord Charles hotel is a luxury hotel with good old fashioned service and it very conveniently located with chairs at the check in desks... Very professional and non- guests can not go to the rooms as it is access controlled for even better security. Good facilities with room service if needed and late night kitchen... Truly a pleasant stay

Room Tip: Room rates are indicative of room quality but ask fir rooms on lower level to avoid a lot of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordcharles9, Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for comments on our location as it is one of our best features. We are thrilled to read that you have enjoyed your stay to the fullest, and that nothing was too much trouble.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Warmest regards,

The NH Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    141
    70
    27
    20
See reviews for
65
129
17
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I just want to thank Anqelika and the staff for everything that they did for us while we were at the LC this weekend. We had a great time. I have been to LC a few times now and it has always been a good experience. Great staff and good food and drink.

We are looking forward to being back the weekend of 12th September once again. After that we will definitely be back for a nice summer break later this year.

Always a pleasure staying at NHLC, thanks once again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lawns have a veranda and is tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordcharles9, Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your comments. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for putting your trust in us and for returning each time.

We will definitely forward your comments through to our staff especially Anqelika and team, as we truly believe that our staff are the biggest asset of our company.

We look forward to welcome you back in September.

Warmest regards,
The NH Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germiston, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I visited the Lord Charles Hotel and spent 4 nights there while at a conference. The hotel and facilities are really good. All the resturants are top class. Tje rooms however are ageing but are bery neat and clean. Overall I had a great stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordcharles9, Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you found our restaurants top class. This is something we pride ourselves on!

Take care of yourself, until we welcome you back for your next conference at NH The Lord Charles Hotel.

Warmest regards,
The NH Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POULTON .LANCS.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Flight did not land until late evening so stayed here for one night .
Very convenient for the airport only a very short distance from the main N road .
Good bedroom with a first class breakfast including sparkling wine which I fully appreciate .
Weather was warm so ate outside .
Large relaxing grounds with shopping complex over the road .
Would be a good base to explore Stellenbosch .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordcharles9, Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback on our hotel and for pointing out some of unique selling points like conveniently located and best breakfast in the Helderberg area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the NH Family, very soon.

Warmest regards,
The NH Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here for 13 nights. We had booked a standard room but we were upgraded to a superior room with a lovely view over looking the lake. The room was very nice although as previously mentioned the television was ok but not a modern flat screen and had limited channels.
The room was very clean, nice white towells and we had a turn down service every night. Housekeeping was excellent.
The staff were very friendly and nothing was to much troulble.

The hotel pool was lovely but to cold! although my husband enjoyed a refreshing swim.
Food - breakfast was very good with a good choice. We ate in the hotel restaurant three times and the food was excellent. We also had a few bar snacks which were also very good.
We booked a couple of private tours through the hotel and our guide Andrew was excellent we had a great time seeing the sites of cape town etc and also doing a winelands tour. Would defo recommend Andrew as a tour guide.
The lord charles was in a good location with easy access to cape town, airport, winelands etc.
We hired a car during our stay and got to see some fantastic sights.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and in south africa . Hope to return to south africa next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front over looking pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordcharles9, Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and so appreciate the positive feedback regarding our rooms, great food, bar service and friendly service as we are renowned for our friendly service and attention to detail.

We assure you of our best attention always and looking forward to welcome you back in the too distant future.

Warmest regards,
The NH Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Well this is my third visit to this hotel, and as I have said in previous reviews the hotel is tired in some areas. However, the hotel is friendly clean and comfortable and a great base to visit the cape attractions. One thing that is excellent is the staff, we were in a group of four and we have agreed to return in 2015. A special mention must go to the reception, who were obliging and the real gem of the hotel is the staff at breakfast times, so friendly and caring, especially Jojina who has served us for the last 3 years.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordcharles9, Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We are delighted to receive such wonderful comments regarding your latest stay with us. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for putting your trust in us and for returning each time.

We will definitely forward your comments through to our staff especially Jojina they will be so please to receive your compliments as this makes all their hard work worthwhile.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,
The NH Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

It is a good conference venue. The catering is good, but the hotel needs an update. TV and channels are substandard as well the Wifi limit per day is inadequate. Location of hotel is convenient with easy access from the main routes. Service fee for room is unnecessary.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordcharles9, Manager at NH The Lord Charles, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your recent positive review and for pointing out some of our unique selling points which we are proud of like great conference venue, great food and great location.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future, where I assure you of our best attention at all times.

Warmest regards
NH Management and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH The Lord Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH The Lord Charles

Address: Corner of Main Road (M9) & Broadway Boulevard (R44), Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH The Lord Charles 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH The Lord Charles hotel in Cape Town is nestled between the wine country of the Cape, the Helderberg Mountains and False Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your NH The Lord Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh The Lord Charles Hotel Somerset West
NH The Lord Charles Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH The Lord Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.