We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““A perfect place”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 4 Heaven Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added 4 Heaven Guesthouse to your Saves list
4 Heaven Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   207 Helderberg College Road, Somerset West 7130, South Africa (Formerly Shepherd's Land Country House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 72 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Gehrden, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
““A perfect place””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at 4 Heaven in October and it is a great place.
The whole house is beautiful decorated with great attention to detail. We were very happy - from the warm welcome of the wonderful staff and management to our spacious luxurious and clean room.
Melanie and Uwe were excellent and gracious hosts and took care of all our needs.
From a relaxed day at the pool in the beautiful garden of the guesthouse to many great and worthwhile excursions to stunning places nearby 4 heaven really offers great opportunities to discover the whole cape area and the vineyards. Whale watching, shark diving...whatever you´re looking for is really close.
We would definetely recommend this beautiful place and whenever we come to south africa we will go there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Heaven, Owner at 4 Heaven Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hi there,

thank you so much for your stay at our place. We enjoyed that much to be your hosts.
Hopefully we see you again in lovely South Africa.

Kind regards

Uwe and Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
104
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

4 Heaven Guest House offered my husband and I a heavenly balance between privacy and a personal touch from owners Melanie and Uwe. The room was spacious with TV (and DSTV), lots of cupboard space (perfect for a long stay) and a very comfortable King Size XXL bed. The bathroom had all the amenities once expects from a top class hotel. The garden offers amazing views of the area and a large pool to relax around. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Heaven, Manager at 4 Heaven Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Judy,
Thanks a lot for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to your next visit to 4 Heaven :-) Hopefully next time the weather is much better and you really can enjoy the garden ! Whenever you need a break from Cape Town- you are always welcome at 4 Heaven ! With kind regards Melanie & Uwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed 10 days in May 2013 in the 4 Heavens Guest House and enjoyed the place, the accommodation as well as the very useful tips for trips in the cape area given by Melanie and Uwe. Very good and comfortable place serving as a perfect base for exploring this wonderful country.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family unit with two separate sleeping rooms and a big comfortable bath room. The b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Heaven, Owner at 4 Heaven Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hello Thilo and Monika,

we enjoyed your stay at our Guesthouse so much. Keep well, take care and we look forward seeing you again in South Africa.

Kind regards

Uwe and Melli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spend wonderful 10 days at 4 Heaven and it has felt like we were visiting friends. Melanie and Uwe are the perfect hosts and they made our stay very peaceful and payed attention to every detail. Without hesitation we would recommend this place to other friends at any time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Heaven, Owner at 4 Heaven Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
It was wonderful to have you here, all the best and we look forward seeing you again!

Kind regards

Uwe and Melli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in January 2013. We stayed in the beautiful upstairs room with a lovely deck overlooking the mountains. All the amenities were there, but it's Melanie & Uwe's personalized touches to our stay that stood out. They showed interest in what we were doing, checked up on us when we returned and always addressed us by our names. To me, it's this attention to detail that is lacking in many other places. This is a great location for shopping and wine tours. Would stay there again if we return to the area. Thanks for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Heaven, Owner at 4 Heaven Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Jennifer, dear Fabio,

we hope you are well and fine in your new home in Ireland. We enjoyed your stay so much.
Let us keep in touch.

Kindest regards

Uwe and Melli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

With a couple of friends, my wife & I enjoyed 5 nights here in early September. Melanie & Uwe could not have been more accommodating, with nothing too much trouble for them. The house is very comfortable with large, clean, airy rooms (ideal in warmer months) & breakfasts really set us up for the days' outings. Melanie & Uwe offered excellent advice regarding local amenities, not least restaurants & wine farms! We'd love to return in the future.

Room Tip: The Family Room offers two bedrooms & shared bathroom facilities, ideal for a family travelling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4Heaven, Owner at 4 Heaven Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thanks a lot for your stay at 4 Heaven ! We really enjoyed having you here ! That was as well for us a fabulous time- hope to see you soon again ! Regards Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed two weeks in the very nice "French Room" which is very comfortable and tastefully decorated with a very nice bathroom. We loved the Cape Dutch House which is equipped with stylish elegance. The House is beautifully situated at Somerset West and from here it is only a few kilometers to the beautiful wine region and its wine yards. The tropical garden with swimming pool ist beautiful and perfect to relax. We loved to have the breakffast also served outside on the beautiful terrace. Melanie and Uwe, the very nice hosts always helped us out and gave us recommendations for beautiful restaurants and wine yards.
We felt very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 4 Heaven Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4 Heaven Guesthouse

Address: 207 Helderberg College Road, Somerset West 7130, South Africa (Formerly Shepherd's Land Country House)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 4 Heaven Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Melanie and Uwe, will be more than happy to assist you with a personalised itinerary of the most popular attractions in and around Somerset West, as well as the entire Western Cape.The wings have:- King size XL length beds with oversized duvets and top quality, pure cotton linen- Luxurious en suite bathrooms - Free wireless internet access- SAT- Television with international channels- Spacious wardrobes with safes- Luxurious bathrooms with all toiletries, hairdryers and plenty toweling - Alarm clock/radio, chair, table, bed lights, furls for the cold nights- Coffee and tea making facilities The general facilities of 4 Heaven Guesthouse are:- Spacious lounge with open fire place- Library - Tropical swimming pool- Secure off the road parking on the premises- Spacious and natural shaped garden (5.000m²)- Several sunny and shady terraces around the house and in the garden- Towels for the pool and the beach. We offer the following additional services- Laundry services- Honesty bar with a wide variety in spirits and wines- Bookings of restaurants, wine-tasting and golf-courses- Day tours and transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your 4 Heaven Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Heaven Guesthouse Somerset West, South Africa - Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 4 Heaven Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.