We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school ambiance with flair” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montecello

Montecello
Main Road, Sedgefield, Knysna, South Africa
443431780
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Sedgefield
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Durbanville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old school ambiance with flair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Decor not my cup of tea but the food really worth it. We had the espetada. .....amazing and highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    28
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The food was really tasty, steak was the best I have tasted. Seafood was delicately done. I will definitely be coming back when next in the area. The staff were chatty and the service was spot on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

When on holiday we always have a few meals at Montecello's. Been doing this for more than 15 years and the food over that period has always been great. In season and out of season, it is always full. BTW look for the Leervis mounted on the walls, very impressive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The food was excellent especially the Sole, big portion, fresh and delightful, decor a bit shabby, but service was good, owned by husband {in the kitchen} wife front of house, very switched on and welcoming..and..dont forget to try the calamari steak with crab sauce, my husbands words TDF..

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, average service & atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

After visiting the Friday night market in Wilderness we drove back to Sedgefield and decided to dine here as it is rated #1 on TripAdvisor. Both of us had the fish and chips. Good, just slightly under seasoned. Service was a bit slow as it was very full, but servers were very kind and helpful. Decor needs a bit of an update.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montecello also viewed

 

Been to Montecello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montecello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.