We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afrovibe Adventure Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Afrovibe Adventure Lodge to your Saves list
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   2 Claude Urban Drive | Myoli Beach, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“On the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

On the beach, comfortable, friendly staff, excellent choice, nice place to eat, spacious rooms, beautiful view from top deck. One of nicest budget accommodation you will ever stay at. Great vibe for both backpackers and families

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi Ane-Michaela V,

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, its lovely knowing you had an enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,
Lyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    25
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
15
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

It was a bit loud with the restaurant right below but was relatively nice. The beach is just beautiful. Was very hard to sleep with the noise. I was there during a christmas party...but the next night was also loud. Fun place if you enjoy the bar scene and short walk home :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi KatieLynn323,

Thanks for your feedback. You stayed with us during peak summer season in December 2013 which was the busiest season for both Afrovibe and PiliPili Beach Bar thus far. In fact, the season was MUCH busier than what we had anticipated hence the noise levels were higher than normal.

We hope that you choose to stay with us on your next visit to South Africa so that you can experience our venue with a bit more of a relaxed atmosphere. :-)

Kind regards,
Lyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Epic views of the ocean, wonderful in-house restaurant by the beach, brilliant crowd.. It's all that you want to feel young again! The best place to stay in Sedgefield, it is great value for money as well- Additionally, it has got all the must-have connections/deals for stuff to do on the garden route- making life very easy!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi Mandalam,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. Its always good to know that our guests have had an enjoyable experience with us.

We trust you have enjoyed your stay in sunny South Africa and that you will return again soon.

Warm regards,
Lyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My Friend Lauren and I left CapeTown headed out to some town called Sedgefield not expecting to find our favourite backpackers and town in South Africa. We planned on just checking it out, staying a couple days - a week later we found ourselves more sad then ever hopping on a bus back to Cape Town.

The staff here was incredible, we were always greeted with a smile and they helped us organize many trips in the Sedgefield area. We headed to Bloukrans and did the bungee jump, ate oysters in Knysna, toured a township, rode ostriches, walked with lions, along with many other activites - all thanks to the staff at Afrovibe. Every morning the staff asked us what we wanted to do and they helped us figure out how to do it.

On top of the incredible staff and activities - the rooms and location were great. You can see the ocean from the backpackers. There is an attached bar called PiliPili that really added to the friendly and fun atmosphere. We stayed in a dorm and then stayed in a double room after that and both were great, comfortable, and affordable.

I would definitely recommend visiting Sedgefield and staying at Afrovibe - you have the ocean, friendly staff, tons of activities and you will definitely remember this place forever. I know I will.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi Carley_m21,

Receiving guests such as you and Lauren makes us feel as though we have the best jobs in the world, thanks! :-) We are thrilled that we are embedded in your memory bank.

Warm regards,
Lyle

PS Your sunglasses have become part of the crew uniform.. whoever drives the Afro van wears the sunglasses!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

After a few hours from our start, Cape Town, we arrived in Afrovibe Hostel, the first stop to continue the road trip on the day after.

All we want was a shower, a very nice dinner and have a little fun to relax on that night.

We´ve checked-in and the hostess took and showed us to the beds.

The ambiance were clean and clear even though the hostel were almost 100% booked.

The architectural project is amazing, the place arounded by a terrace and on the roof top you can see and hear the beach.

Downstairs you can find the restaurant and have a nice braai at evenings. The serve also conventional food and exotic drinks.

The bathroom were clean and in perfect conditions.

I recomend this place always to those planning garden route trip.

Room Tip: try to ask for the terrace rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi IsaBelloFornari,

Thanks for your recommendation, we appreciate it! :-)

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us, we hope to host you again next time you visit South Africa.

Warm and sunny regards,
Lyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Afrovibe is by far one of the best speciality lodging I have ever been to. Myoli beach is also one of the most beautiful beaches, can get a bit windy (not Capetown windy so it not bad ;) )but perfect for kite-surfing and other awesome water-sports that require a great open sea and a bit of wind. This lodge is right on the beach and has great vibe, restaurant and rooftop view. Sedgefield is a real gem in between Knysna and the Wilderness. The walks on this beach are great... do yourself a favour walk to the end of the beach climb on "Lions" rock, look to your right and you will see so much beauty. Afrovibe has a great bar which can get rowdy at times esp on weekends ... but hey its a fun loving busy lodge :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hi JJakes30,

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and share our sentiment that Myoli Beach indeed is amazingly beautiful! :-)

We hope to welcome you back to our fun-loving lodge soon!

Warm regards,
Lyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The place is amazing!

I love the location a lot as it's right next to the beautiful beach. You can change your clothes, leave your shoes, walk through the sand directly to the beach, which gives you the wonderful view!

The open hire is also a highlight, they have the fire in the middle of the back garden area the whole night and it's just so comfortable and relaxing to sit down in the night, have some drinks and just chill out. I feel that I can sit there the whole night either with friends or just by myself. There is a black and chubby dog there, and he likes to sit and sleep next to me when I was next to the fire, sorry I didn't get his name, cute dog!

I enjoyed the bar in the same building with it too, great deal drinks! And the music is good too!

A minor problem is that there is no wifi in the room and we have to go to the registration room for the covering, it's fine if it's summer, but it was winter there then and it was just that comfortable.

A suggestion: it would be great if the lodge could provide some slippers in the room for the guests to use. This way, we could wear them either to the beach or just for use after we wash off the sand from the beach!

Room Tip: You can have your own room if you don't want to party too late, or you have a tired day and just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Jimmy W,

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us, we appreciate the feedback and are thrilled to know that you found our place to be amazing! :-) Chuck is our friendly little chubby dog - he still enjoys the fire as much as he did when you visited.

We have noted your suggestion about wifi coverage in the rooms and will consider this suggestion when upgrading our wifi routers.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back to Afrovibe soon!
Regards,
Lyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Afrovibe Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afrovibe Adventure Lodge

Address: 2 Claude Urban Drive | Myoli Beach, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Afrovibe Adventure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge and Backpackers hostel is located in Sedgefield, a quaint seaside village set in the lakes district between the towns of Wilderness and Knysna on the Garden Route of South Africa. This owner-run hostel is situated right ON Myoli Beach. Myoli Beach is an undiscovered paradise littered with adventure. In-house activities include: Kite-surfing, surfing, wakeboarding, stand up paddling, paragliding, mountain biking, horse riding, canoeing, beach volleyball and trips to the Bloukrans Bungy Bridge or White Shark Africa where one can dive with Great White Sharks. With plenty to do life truly is a beach at Afrovibe! Spend your days on an unspoilt beach, sip on cocktails with sand between your toes at the beach bar, try to spot a dolphin or two from the roof top jacuzzi or enjoy a scrumptious meal from the in-house restaurant. Room types include; single rooms, double rooms, triple rooms, family rooms and dorms - all of which are en-suite. The rooms are clean and comfortable with all self-catering facilities at your disposal. These facilities include a spacious communal lounge, fully equipped communal kitchen, BBQ facilities,free Wi-Fi, secure off street parking, Baz Bus Stop and friendly helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Afrovibe Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.