We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afrovibe Myoli Beach!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afrovibe Adventure Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Afrovibe Adventure Lodge to your Saves list
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   2 Claude Urban Drive | Myoli Beach, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Afrovibe Myoli Beach!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I am so glad that I stopped in Sedgefeild it is THE hidden gem of South Africa. After traveling almost the entire coast of SA and staying in many different hostels I have to say Afrovibe hands down was the best. The staff there is absolutely amazing and will go way out of there way to make sure you have the time of your life. If your looking for a quite night, then the jaccuzis on the roof and a bottle of wine is great way to do it. If your looking for adventure then it is never ending from, paragliding, crawling through caves, ostrich riding, kite surfing, to wakeboarding, if your on a budget theres a sand dune right outside shred that with the free sandboard rental or rip up the half pipe outside the front door. Three great surf beaches 10 minutes away from the hostel. Rooms were spotless, big screen tv in common room, great bbq area outback in the sand with a bonfire everynight! But the staff is what makes this place so great if you want to get away from the mainstream tourist crowded towns head down to Myoli. Stayed a week wish I could have stayed longer, oh ya and the lodge is literally on the beach!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thanks Andrew! It's great knowing that you've had such a pleasant stay with us. It's been great hosting you & we look forward to loads more adventuring!

Cheers!
Lyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    25
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
15
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place when a hangover wouldn't let us carry on the few more hours it took to get to George. After puking in the toilet (very clean and spacious by the way) we were treated to the most incredible time.
Afrovibe was by far the most unique, hospitable and friendly one hostel we went to on the route. Nothing was too much. We ended up staying a week...tried out dorms and cabanas...and they were both very clean and  provided towls, soap etc. 

Loads to offer...Sunsets from the beach (2sec walk) or rooftop, trips to George, speciality cocktails, bonfire and booze, a guide to the stars, swims in the lagoon...the list goes on. 

Also worth noting if you are in Cape town, only have a few days to do the garden route but still want to do some of it you can get a night bus straight to sedgefield- I'm sure Lyle of Gareth won't mind picking you up ;-) x

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you Polly. We try our best and such positive feedback is a real treat, thanks for stumbling upon us! :-)

Hope to see you back in South Africa soon!
Lyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I came for a quick drink on my way to George and 3 days later I'm still here!
There is something about this place that you just don't want to leave.
The people are very accommodating, friendly, warm and go out there way to make sure you have an great stay.
The location is perfect.., right on the beach in a beautiful area, easy to find from the N2.
The rooms are definitely a higher quality then a normal Backpacker would offer, they are big, clean and each has there own bathroom. The linen are clean, fresh & soft and the bedding is of good quality.

They have lots of activities to offer and for the ones who rather chill, you will also find the piece & quit you need here.
The resort has an open fire each evening on the beach - in there garden with a great atmosphere.. peoples socializing or just relaxing around the fire.
It has two nice restaurants, a inside spicy beach bar, surf shop & great living room to chill with a big flat screen TV for the ones who rather just watch a movie.
I totally felt at home here and would recommend this place to anybody :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thanks for your wonderful review Lavinia, we're pleased that you had a good stay with us.

Hope to see you again soon!
Lyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I had an amazing time at Afrovibe!
The people are very friendly,extremely helpul and do everything so that you have a blast!
Beautiful hostel right at the beach...kilometres of beach...you can swim there or just lay in the sun....
At night you chill at the bar,listening to sumbody playing the guitar,partying...
The area is rather calm-but there are many activities being offered you can do around the area..
Plus Lyle is always trying to integrate his guests into the local life!!!
Its a greaaaaaaaaaaaaaat place to stop by and chill for a few days!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. We strive to give our guests the best experience our area has to offer & we are pleased to know that you enjoyed this.

We look forward to your next visit! :-)

Cheers!
Lyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The backpackers is right on the beach and a nice place to stay. It is a very social place and would best suit young backpackers who would like to stay up latish and enjoy company of others, especially suitable for surfers. I had a double room at the front and the room was clean and spacious and comfortable. There was a table and also TV and equipment to make coffee. The only problem was that it was rather noisy as there are many downstairs partying till latish. The noise travels up. If your aim is to party with other young travellers, it is very suitable. For those wishing to sleep, it is not as suitable - depends what you are after, so suitable for younger people not older ones I would say.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us, your opinion is highly valuable.
We have started closing the outside terrace of the bar downstairs at 11PM to eliminate this noise problem. We aim to cater for all travellers- youth travellers as well as for the young at heart! :-)

We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Lyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My stay here coincided with my 21st birthday so was easily able to organise a roof top party with great views, a braii, two Jacuzzi's and drinks. The day was topped off with a great price on paragliding and a clean fresh room with more than I would expect in a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay with us, we appreciate it and are pleased to know that you had a pleasant experience. We hope to share your 22nd, 23rd, 24th and even your 25th birthday with you!

Sincerely,
Lyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This place offers you a variety of sports activity. The staff is very friendly and the food is amazing. The rooms are nice, clean and the lodge is right in front of the beach and a few minutes walking to a beautiful river mouth. The price is also valued for what they offer and is located on the road trip between Cape Town and J-Bay. While I was there, I also met friendly local people. I will be back soon for sure!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afrovibe, Owner at Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to your visit in December!

Sincerely,
Lyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Afrovibe Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afrovibe Adventure Lodge

Address: 2 Claude Urban Drive | Myoli Beach, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Afrovibe Adventure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge and Backpackers hostel is located in Sedgefield, a quaint seaside village set in the lakes district between the towns of Wilderness and Knysna on the Garden Route of South Africa. This owner-run hostel is situated right ON Myoli Beach. Myoli Beach is an undiscovered paradise littered with adventure. In-house activities include: Kite-surfing, surfing, wakeboarding, stand up paddling, paragliding, mountain biking, horse riding, canoeing, beach volleyball and trips to the Bloukrans Bungy Bridge or White Shark Africa where one can dive with Great White Sharks. With plenty to do life truly is a beach at Afrovibe! Spend your days on an unspoilt beach, sip on cocktails with sand between your toes at the beach bar, try to spot a dolphin or two from the roof top jacuzzi or enjoy a scrumptious meal from the in-house restaurant. Room types include; single rooms, double rooms, triple rooms, family rooms and dorms - all of which are en-suite. The rooms are clean and comfortable with all self-catering facilities at your disposal. These facilities include a spacious communal lounge, fully equipped communal kitchen, BBQ facilities,free Wi-Fi, secure off street parking, Baz Bus Stop and friendly helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Afrovibe Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afrovibe Adventure Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.