We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely wonderful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Lake Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Lake Marina to your Saves list
Pine Lake Marina
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Pine Lake Marina Resort | N2 (Swartvlei exit), Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Sedgefield B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“absolutely wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We booked in at Pine Lake Marina on the morning of the 08th of February 2014 for a romantic evening away. Upon arrival we greeted by the friendly staff who then explained where the pools etc. are. We were provided with a map of the resort and a welcome letter. When we got to our little 2 bedroom studio, it was beautiful, clean and fully equipped with the necessary cutlery and crockery. It felt like home away from home. Seeing that we only booked for one evening we tried to do as much as the activities as possible, we started by having a pick nick at the beach with the pick nick basket that they made up for us filled with biltong and all things yummy it was so nice to finally sit back and enjoy the view. We then booked our Jacuzzi session at the Pine Express shop [not even a 4 min walk from our room] and then went to play mini golf. After the mini golf we went on the paddle boat, it was so relaxing. When we finally got back to our room we started to braai, once dinner was done we decided to walk down to Pine Vibe where we enjoyed hot chocolate on the patio next to the pool. It was truly a wonderful evening and I absolutely loved it at Pine Lake the only down side from the resort was the extremely unfriendly and unprofessional staff at Pine Vibe and Pine Express. When we entered at Pine Vibe we were not greeted at all, after waiting almost 5 minutes next to a dirty table we were handed a menu and the waitress never returned eventually I went inside to the staff member at the bar finding him on his blackberry texting [which is rude considering nobody assisted us to take our order] and I asked him if I can place my order, he didn’t seem to be in the mood to work at all. When it was time to pay the bill his card maiden was at Pine Express so we walked over there with him, at Pine Express there was ± 4 staff members chewing gum with their mouths open, talking to each other, laughing loudly and handing out cigarettes to each other in front of us. Yet once again not greeting us or in the mood to work. Aside from the Pine Vibe and Pine Express staff and service we would definitely return to Pine Lake Marina for a holiday, the place is absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: The little houses in the middle [for example T19 the room we had] was right in the middle of everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Shani S,

Thank you very much for your review - we are so glad you enjoyed the your stay with us. We are very dissapointed in the staff at PineVibe and PineXpress - they have been notified and we have corrected the situation. We hope your next visit will be a complete joy and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

The Pine Lake Marina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    15
    10
    4
See reviews for
53
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

we were very disappointed that we didn't even get to stay at the resort as i was told they only have 3, 2 bedroom 4 sleeper units in the whole resort-very strange.
You can however get a 2 bedroom 6 sleeper with a sleeper couch for R250 more a night -our problem we were only 4 and for our 9 night stay to pay NEARLY R2500 more for something we didn't need was unfair and unaffordable.
we are now staying elsewhere-very sad .

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Helen B,

Thank you for your note on our accommodation layout. We rent the chalets out on a per chalet basis irrespective of number of occupants and because of the added feature in some chalets of a sleeper couch they command slightly higher fees. However if you were booking for February 2014 (as per your "Stayed at" date) the difference in fees would R140 per night for Garden View chalets and R170 per night for a waterfront unit.

The 2 Bedroom units with sleeper couches provides a more affordable option for families with children under 12years of age than having to book a seperate room for children.

We hope this helps to answer your query and look forward to welcoming you to Pine Lake Marina in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Pine Lake Marina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I recommend that your front line staff should be better trained in order to handle guest bookings especially in terms of listening what the guest's needs are. Also follow up on email requests and sending confirmation of bookings is poor. I booked on 29/01/2014, paid m y deposit and by 4/2/2013 had not received any confirmation as yet. I had to phone in to confirm my booking.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Tilly O,

Thanks for letting us know about your experience. As I am sure the reservations staff have informed you we switched to a new reservation system late in January, during this process there was a lot of work required to ensure the existing bookings were brought across correctly.

This caused our reservations staff to respond more slowly to enquiries than is the norm. Things are settling down now and our first class personal service should have resumed.

The new system should automatically have sent an email confirmation to you and if you had not received it, we apologise as this would clearly have been either a system glitch, or perhaps a reservationist noted down the email address incorrectly.

We hope when making your next booking with us the experience will be a much smoother one!

Kind regards,

Team Pine Lake Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

What a great place the new years bash was great at the beach front it must be seen so go over the season time and experience it.the only thing is you get about all the the problrms in your life and enjoy the view the air and so on

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear MalcolmDVDS,

Thank you very much for your kind review - we are glad you enjoyed New Years with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

The Pine Lake Marina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Pine Lake Marina used to be such a lovely and popular resort. It is still hosted in such a lovely area wich offers amazing scenery.

During our recent visit we were really disappointed with the level of service.

On arrival we were never informed that cleaning services are additional. We arrived on a Friday and no cleaning was done over the weekend. Monday the 16th was a public holiday and yet no cleaning was done. Tuesday we went out for the day hoping/ expecting the unit to be cleaned on our return, only to found that nothing was done. On further enquiry on Wednesday I was told that cleaning was not included. I only afterwards noticed from the T&C that cleaning is excluded. I assume that Pine Lake Marine is still affiliated to RCI but I have to add that the standard and services are very unlike RCI.
To our total dismay we were also bitten by lice and decided to rather leave on the Thursday. We will never ever visit this resort again. It is such a pity as it used to be such a lovely place. At first I was quite surprised to see that the resort was relatively quiet especially considering the time of year. I now realise that it is probably as a result of the standard of service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear RouxvanVuren,

Thank you for your review, we apologise that you did not read the terms correctly and thus there was an expectation gap regarding the cleaning. Whilst Pine Lake Marina was wholly timeshare let cleaning was included (and still is for our existing timeshare clients).

However for short term reservations cleaning is optional and can thus be added seperately. The first half of February was actually very busy, with a large function included during that period.

We use an external pest control company - to monitor and service the resort continually. We hope your claims were reported at the time, which would have allowed us to investigate and rectify the situation.

We disagree with the standard of service you mention, as we always aim to keep our guests happy and do anything within our power to keep guests happy.

Inspite of your complaints we hope that these minor issue will not put you off visiting us again and hope to make your next experience with us a good one.

Kind regards,

The Pine Lake Marina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Pinelake offers beautiful scenery, lots of water activities,and activities for the kids.The pools are great too.My kids really enjoyed fun on the lake.But what puts this down is the chalets and the service you get.We arrived on an extremely hot day only to find the fans only work on a low setting.It has webs and spiders galore and the damp was alot too.The rates are extremely high for bathrooms that dont even have any tap mixers or even a hand shower.We were made to move rooms because of our room being booked, but no one actually came to stay there,.We were requested twice to pay an outstanding amount , which had already been paid few weeks before we arrived.The staff clearly dont know what is goin on, they dont return phonecalls when you need anything and cant assist you in any way.Chalet pictures on website are deceiving.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Zubair786,

Thank you for your review - we see you have a flair for the dramatic with that headline.

The chalets are kept in good condition and if their was a problem, we hope you reported it and the matter would have been resolved quickly.

Regarding the outstanding payment requests - this related to an incorrect reference number being used on your payment reference and thus caused problems linking these to the correct booking.

There is always someone available and willing to assist on our number 044 349 2200 - please use this number if you do not have the correct one.

The pictures on the website are actual photos and have not been altered - therefore we completely reject the idea that these are misleading. There are also 185 chalets, which makes depicting them on a website quite a challenge, considering we have 13 different styles of chalets.

We hope you return in future and that the rest of your experience in the Garden Route was a good one!

Kind Regards,

The Pine Lake Marina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Pinelake Marina is a good alternative to a hotel, especially if you have kids with. The place is large, has sufficient activities and amenities to keep the Kids occupied on off days from exploring the surrounding areas. It is about a 20 min drive to Knysna, a 5-8 min drive from the Wilderness and about a 40 minute drive from Plettenberg Bay. All in all, it was a good place to base ourselves for exploring the area.
The Marina is wonderful if you have your own boat, as the lake is quite large. If not, book very early or you will not be able to secure a rental boat when you check in. There is an excellent Gym, Games Room, Warm Water Pool and a Spa. You have to pay for the gym. For the price we paid, I felt that access to the gym should have been complementary.
The resort is also very family oriented and safe for children.

Room Tip: The Chalets L1 to L13 Lack privacy as they are along the main road of the Resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear 987293872983riufwenc,

Thank you very much for your review. Since we are located in the heart of the Garden Route, it allows our guests to easily explore this beautiful part of South Africa.

We charge the nominal fee for the gym usage for two reasons, firstly it means people respect the equipment and are less likely to abuse the area. Secondly it also helps us recover the access cards, which people tend to walk off with when there is no charge.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon!

Kind regards,

The Pine Lake Marina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pine Lake Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Marina

Address: Pine Lake Marina Resort | N2 (Swartvlei exit), Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Lake Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Lake Marina (SATOUR 3 star graded) is a self-catering family orientated holiday resort situated on the banks of the spectacular Swartvlei Lake, outside Sedgefield - in the heart of the Garden Route, South Africa. Rates include a variety of activities, for example, tennis, squash, kayaking, pedalos, mini-golf, etc. that can be done on site, whilst the location means it is a short drive to explore all that this wonderful area has to offer! Swimming beaches are close by and the area offers an abundance of activities to enjoy including Mountain Biking; Bungee Jumping; Paragliding; kite-surfing; Trail Running; .The newly completed conference centre and restaurant offers a beautiful setting for weddings and other functions at very affordable rates.Across the road there is an associated short golf course, The Sedge Links - where you can improve your short-game or learn the game for the first time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Pine Lake Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Marina Hotel Sedgefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Lake Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.