We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pine lake.the place to be .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Lake Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Lake Marina to your Saves list
Pine Lake Marina
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Pine Lake Marina Resort | N2 (Swartvlei exit), Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Sedgefield B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pine lake.the place to be .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

Its a great place to enjoy a get away,its siuteable fr the hole family,great ficlities for the hole fal,and u can ejoy what they offer u there,its always nice enjoying the geta way at Pine Lake .

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    14
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
47
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Very good place for children,near swimming pool and water atraction,large playground,interesting net for birds watching etc. Accommodation is nice,but we had a problems with ants,staff very friendly and helpfull for kill them:-) Restaurant-we were very excited by every daily meal selection,BUT staff was extremly slow,in out season we wait a loooong time. Evening story- our 4.5 yrs old son found cell phone in children corner, I bring to bar,NOTHING, no thanks ,smile etc. For management-they NEED training,smile&thanks are words for free...Saturday breakfast story- they havent any meal on menu! We waited more than 45 min for 2 toasts and scramble eggs...

Room Tip: Challets near swimming pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Hi Kroulak,

Thank you for your comments, it seems as if you enjoyed your trip to South Africa and the activities on offer at Pine Lake Marina.

We are glad the staff assisted you satisfactorily with the ant problem and are working on getting rid of them more permanently.

We are very sorry to hear about your experience at the restaurant and have forwarded your comments to the restaurant operators so that they can be addressed promptly.

None the less thanks again for your visit and we hope to see you (and some of your countrymen) here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012 via mobile

We arrived an hour before "check in" and weren't even allowed to wait on the grounds. We were made to wait (with 4 kids under 4) in a boiling hot parking while our groceries practically cooked away! When we wanted to book a motor boat, they told us it was to "choppy" when it was far from that! They wanted to pack up and were worried we'd stop them from leaving on time. The one restaurant "Die vette mossel" was closed, the other was not "busy" so they told us they couldn't take our booking. The 2 hours of gym you buy has to be used in ONE session, or you forfeit, who gyms for 2 HOURS! We went to sit by the kiddies tidal pool, there were old braai remnants and bread bags and litter around, for little feet, it was quite hard to walk on. The staff at reception were very unfriendly, and I would say that this resort has passed its prime. On a good note, the pools are well looked after, If you can look past all of the "not so good" points, and if you are with good company, it definitely can be a fun place for kids.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Hi Jacqui thank you for letting us know about your experience.

We will definitely look into the motor boat incident and find out what happened, if that was the attitude of the staff on the day it will be remedied quickly. The pleasure for the guests has to come first, however safety factors also come into consideration.

Unfortunately early check-ins aren't accommodated at present as the chalets have to be cleaned following on from people leaving that morning (check-outs) - we've had quite a few experiences where guests complain that the chalet was not clean, whilst in the mean time they checked in early. We are working on a new reservation system which might sort this problem out in the future.

We are currently in discussions about the restaurant with its operators, but appologies about this - we will let them know about your comments and experience and also about the state of the tidal pool.

The gym system: the payment is not actually paying for two hours of gyming, it is a payment per session, we put a 2 hour time limit on it (max) - so that we can get the swipe cards back on a timely basis for the next guests who wish to use the facilities.

We have recently addressed the ladies at reception about their client interactions - most of the time we get good compliments from guests regarding their friendliness, but we will reiterate this and let them know about your observation.

We can assure you that the resort is not past its prime and that we are currently busy with a refurbishment plan for the units, which is going to systematically take place over the next couple of years. If you can see the improvements that have taken place over the last two years, you would recognise the amount of work and financial investment that have thus far gone into this resort.

We hope to see you back here soon and thanks again for your comments, we will use your constructive criticism and use them for improving the Pine Lake Marina team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

Really great location in the Southern Cape. Great accommodation. Great facilities. Great water fun. Poor restaurant.

Even better value for money in Off peak season Feb.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

Please bare in mind that I'm not a person that stays in 5*accomodation when I go away on holiday. Overall we enjoyed pinelakes only because, they have water sports, more than one swimming pool and indoor games ....so there is lots for children to do...they don't get bored.
Also the staff are very helpful and friendly.
What let it down was the apartments......the windows were filthy! The kitchen stove was full of fat and grease, the cutlery had dried food stains on there - so your 1st day is spent cleaning up and settling in.
They have a dampness problem, it looks like the apartments have not been painted in a long time
The showers are rusty. There are spider webs everywhere.
I have been to other self catering cottages that are now old, but have been maintained well and kept clean....so for that reason I won't be returning to pinelake marina. Maybe stay some where else and spend the day there.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
shazminkarim - Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

We are glad you enjoyed the activities at Pine Lake Marina, we recently acquired some new kayaks which makes exploring the Swartvlei Lake a lot of fun. We have some new pedalos on the way to, but they will only be arriving in May from overseas.

We appologise for the cleanliness issue - this is not the standard we expect to set and we have informed our housekeeping department and they have dealt with the matter accordingly. There must have been some slip up, because all the windows were cleaned just before your stay for a large group who had their conference and team building here.

We have embarked on a maintenance programme and the waterfront cabanas are in the process of being painted, tiled, etc. We hope that these changes will improve your experience at Pine Lake Marina in the future. We have done a lot of work on the overall resort in the two years since we have taken over and we are trying to make it a value for money experience.

Hopefully see you back here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

We have never experienced bad service at pinelake each and every time we holiday there. We have now made pinelake our family holiday destination as it has everything to offer. Service is great! Always willing to go the extra mile.. I'm sure once a person has been to pinelake u'll get hooked.. Like our family.. If we think holiday/weekend get-away we think Pinelake!
We have just returned a few days ago back from our week long holiday at pinelake and I am already thinking about booking our next stay soon ;)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012 via mobile

I would choose this holiday resort out of 10 as my no.1 place. It is relaxing and amazing view as well astheir activities for all ages. My rate out of 10 is definately 10 out of 10... Pine Lake Marina you ROCK!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Lake Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Marina

Address: Pine Lake Marina Resort | N2 (Swartvlei exit), Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Lake Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Lake Marina (SATOUR 3 star graded) is a self-catering family orientated holiday resort situated on the banks of the spectacular Swartvlei Lake, outside Sedgefield - in the heart of the Garden Route, South Africa. Rates include a variety of activities, for example, tennis, squash, kayaking, pedalos, mini-golf, etc. that can be done on site, whilst the location means it is a short drive to explore all that this wonderful area has to offer! Swimming beaches are close by and the area offers an abundance of activities to enjoy including Mountain Biking; Bungee Jumping; Paragliding; kite-surfing; Trail Running; .The newly completed conference centre and restaurant offers a beautiful setting for weddings and other functions at very affordable rates.Across the road there is an associated short golf course, The Sedge Links - where you can improve your short-game or learn the game for the first time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Pine Lake Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Marina Hotel Sedgefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Lake Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.