We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation and security” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Lake Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pine Lake Marina to your Saves list
Pine Lake Marina
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Pine Lake Marina Resort | N2 (Swartvlei exit), Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Sedgefield B&B and Inns
Western Cape
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation and security”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My family and I spend many beautiful days at the resort.The one most important draw card for us as parents is the safety in which our children could and can enjoy themselves, running around, hiring bicycles, playing put put with relatively limited supervison. Any unhappiness was dealt with speedily and professionally by those responsible for the resort. Pine lake will never become to expensive and I will come back year after year.

Pity I don't own the place - lol-

Melvin and Nicky Jefferies

Room Tip: Rooms close to the gym,bar area and sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    15
    10
    4
See reviews for
53
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We have been visiting Pine Lake Marina since 1994 and would not spend our holidays anywhere else. We adopted our son in 1997 and daughter in 1999, and they equally love the family centered approach that Pine Lake epitmomises. Our son is disabled, handicapped and has autism, and this is the one place where he feels totally at home, he talks about Pine Lake from the time he leaves until his next visit! All the staff know and love him, the boat house 'crew' are particularly wonderful with him because of his love for boating, every day rain or shine Matthew is out in the red boat with his dad. He is able to feel free and has some independence at the resort due to the safety of security guards at the gate, and as parents we can relax just a little knowing that he is safe as he rides around on his customised tricycle. I recommend Pine Lake to all my friends and have sent many to this home from home holiday destination

Room Tip: all the chalets have their own special ambience thanks to the layout of the resort, for wonderful vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Pine Lake Marina is an amazing holiday destination, which I highly recommend for families with children, be them teenagers or toddlers. Ever since I can remember we've been going to Pine Lake Marina as an annual family holiday destination, and every year PLM just gets better and better.

It's a safe and child-friendly resort with a playground, boathouse, shop, ATM, gym, tennis and squash courts, a games room, trampolines, a restaurant (Pinella, good food, great service), swimming pools and DSTV (though they should have more channels for children.)

The resort's Maintenance Staff are always around to fix things, from bad DSTV connections to a sleeper couch that stunk.
Hats off to Management and their staff!

Looking forward to my next trip!

Room Tip: No matter where you stay, there will always be a good view and it will be in walking distance of all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Pine Lake Marina is a truly magnificent holiday destination. My family has been privileged to have visited this resort on numerous occasions over the last couple of years and each time has been very special. Pine Lake Marina is an idyllic family getaway, offering loads of relaxing and destressing entertainment for both young and old. Nestled between scenic hills along the inviting waters of the Swartvlei, the resorts boasts watersport activities from waterskiing, canoeing and pedallos to a sunset cruise on the relaxing "Loose Goose." There is a foefie slide, jungle gym, putt-putt, trampolines, bicycles, hiking trails, sparkling swimming pools as well as a romantic jacuzzi. Even if the weather is foul, the fun continues with table tennis, pool tables, indoor play area, a fully equipped gymnasium, squash court, TV and an interesting library, thus striking the balance between activity and relaxation! Definately an affordable breakaway considering that almost all the activities offered are included in the price, that, together with top class service and warm hospitality by friendly and highly competent staff, guarantees excellent value for money. All needs are catered for in the resort such as the affordable and well-stocked convenience shop, the laundry which enables mom to keep holiday washing under control and even an ATM to ensure dad has a constant flow of cash. You, and your beloved furry friend (so pet-friendly) enjoying a juicy chop together under the stars from the outdoor braai, to winter nights spend around the cosy and toasty indoor fireplace, to memorable nights spent at the restaurant offering magnificent views of the Vlei, Pine Lake Marina creates memories that last a lifetime. After a long, satisfying day, there is nothing better than slipping between the crisp white linen and reflecting on quality family time all within a safe and secure environment, knowing that on departure, the kids' tears will be flowing and the nagging and begging phrase, "When can we come again" will start! Pine Lake Marina has become our beloved home-away-from-home and our preferred holiday destination. Nothing can compare to Pine Lake Marina, and we shall recommend it far and wide as we return time after time. Thank you Pine Lake Marina.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

As a group we always get away when big soccer derby is on (Pool v Man U. We enjoy Pinelake as it offers a lot in the form of child friendly facility. In our group the men spoil the ladies as we perform all the cooking duties. The ladies are left to either chat and enjoy the facility or make up on lost sleep. The kids thorougly enjoy the time together and play from early the mornings to late at night. Our kids are always sad when we have to leave but there is hope for another weekend. Pine lake rocks

Room Tip: We prefer to be close to all the ammenities, in pool, shop, trampoline, tennis courts etc. Its very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I have a plot in Kleinkranz and had to go and maintain it. I decided to book at Pine Lake Marina for 3 days. What a pleasure it was. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the facilities were in excellent condition and the chalet was neat & tidy. We had such a good time we actually extended our stay and staff were very accomodating to our request. The views are fantastic and the tranqulity of the place is just what is needed after the hustle & bustle of city life-a perfect place to re-energise the body. Would recommend Pine Lake to everybody looking for a break from the rat race!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed for a week, it was fantastic. The staff and management was great. We all enjoyed it. Will go back anytime.

Room Tip: All Chalets we used was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pine Lake Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Marina

Address: Pine Lake Marina Resort | N2 (Swartvlei exit), Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Lake Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Lake Marina (SATOUR 3 star graded) is a self-catering family orientated holiday resort situated on the banks of the spectacular Swartvlei Lake, outside Sedgefield - in the heart of the Garden Route, South Africa. Rates include a variety of activities, for example, tennis, squash, kayaking, pedalos, mini-golf, etc. that can be done on site, whilst the location means it is a short drive to explore all that this wonderful area has to offer! Swimming beaches are close by and the area offers an abundance of activities to enjoy including Mountain Biking; Bungee Jumping; Paragliding; kite-surfing; Trail Running; .The newly completed conference centre and restaurant offers a beautiful setting for weddings and other functions at very affordable rates.Across the road there is an associated short golf course, The Sedge Links - where you can improve your short-game or learn the game for the first time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Pine Lake Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Marina Hotel Sedgefield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Lake Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.