We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit this farmers market” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Oats Community Farmers Market

Wild Oats Community Farmers Market
Western outskirts of Sedgefield, corner N2 and Jan van Reibeeck St, Sedgefield, Knysna, South Africa
0823765020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Sedgefield
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wild Oats is a local farmers and food market located on the western outskirts of Sedgefield at the turnoff to Sedgefield Island. We are an award winning Garden Route landmark, open only on Saturday mornings from sunrise until 11:30. Not to be confused with the Scarab Craft Market to the far east of Engen Petrol Station or the Island Flea Market to the east of Wild Oats. As a food market, our open times are limited due to the short shelf-life of many of our LOCALLY PRODUCED products which include: Free-range chicken, beef, pork and lamb, free-range eggs, multiple cheese, dairy and baked products including fresh mozzarella, gouda, cheddar, blue-cheeses, cottage cheeses... milk, fresh fish, fruits, free-range vegetables in season, many traditional and exotic bottled goods, organic olives, berries, rusks, koeksisters, biltongs, beef-jerkey and wors, famous artisan breads, award-winning cheesecakes and goats cheeses... and on and on and on. Also a fabulous range of hot-off-the-grill breakfasts, coffees, teas and fresh-squeeze juices and smoothies. FOOD HEAVEN! Come face-to-face with our local producers every Saturday morning, come rain or shine.
Strand, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Must visit this farmers market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

So far biggest farmers market I have ever visited. Lot of shops and variety of items.
Good place for breakfast too. Opens only on Saturdays.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    17
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“You have to go here :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I love markets, I adore visiting Thailand because of the markets and this South African market is well worth visiting. You can find anything here - arts, crafts, fresh produce, cakes, and all sorts. The market is situated just outside Sedgefield (South Africa's go-slow-town). remember to take cash, there are no credit card facilities here, but if you forgot your cash you can draw money at the ATM inside the BP garage (next to the market).

The market consists out of 2 parts - one with mainly edibles - fresh produce - sweets - jams - breads - cheeses - biltong - cakes and bakes etc and the other with a variety of stalls - food and goods.

Buy some holiday souvenirs here, make sure to visit early because they serve yummy farm breakfasts..... and here is an friendly hint.....

My friend purchased a backpack here for R350 and 3 days later I saw the same bag in a Chinese store in town for R150 less! Oh dear - that's disappointing and we thought she had bought a bargain at the market!!! So shop carefully :-) and visit a Chinese store beforehand to make sure you don't get ripped off when you buy clothing and/or accessories.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wildoatsmarket, Owner at Wild Oats Community Farmers Market, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you so much for your raving review! We are Wild Oats Community Farmers' Market, established in 1999 with a firm policy of localization: ALL of our vendors are FOOD PRODUCERS resident within the Garden Route area. The unfortunate comments regarding CRAFT that we receive quite often are actually misdirected! WE DO NOT TRADE IN CRAFT! We have signposted carefully (and within the legal limitations) to bring awareness that there are 3 markets operating on this node, but many visitors do not make this distinction... as in your case. Wild Oats policies are carefully designed to maximize local sustainability (check out our website www.wildoatsmarket.co.za) and these include a below-retail and no-resellers dimension. We are aware that the Scarab Market also promotes a local-producers only policy, but unfortunately the middle market known as "Mosaic Market" does not (yet!) share in these localization efforts and therefore you will find Chinese and other non-African goods available at this market at uncontrolled prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Something of Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Loved the huge choice of products. Very friendly vibe. Seems like a nice venue to meet for breakfast with friends and do all those greengrocer shopping!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graaff-Reinet, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Craving for Chilly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

18 months ago we stopped at the Wild Oats Farmers market just outside Sedgefield. I found THE LITTLE HERB GARDEN stall and bought a variety of goodies including their Chilly Relish. This product adds Devine flavour to ANY dish. Had I known how delicious it was I would have bought the entire stock to take home.
We returned to the market in January on our way to Plettenberg Bay, to my dismay, there were only two bottles left. The solution, I placed my rather large order and collected it on our way home!

This relish does not destroy the taste buds but adds a fabulous flavour to any dish.
One taste and unless you fill your pantry with a good stock, the craving will get you.
The good news is, I hear they are opening an on-line shop. No more panic attacks for me!

If you are headed down that way, and if you would like to take my word for it, place your order ahead of time. This sounds like an add but trust me, I am not employed be them.

The market has a fantastic atmosphere, plenty of seating where you can just relax, people watch and feast on all the delicious foods available.

This is a must for anyone who enjoys fresh produce, plants, herbs, breads, cheese, you name it, they got it.
Enjoy!
Email...dames@mweb.co.za

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Saturday morning must do!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

If you are on holiday in the area then it is a must visit, on your list of things to do. The atmosphere, the items available to purchase and the breakfast options, are worth the visit and overall experience. We stocked up on fresh breads, cheeses and other homemade treats. The craft market across the road also offers one the opportunity to get something for the home, friend or family. The relaxed atmosphere and music just enhances the holiday mood. Its all part of the little bit of paradise on earth.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Oats Community Farmers Market also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Sedgefield, Knysna
 

Been to Wild Oats Community Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Oats Community Farmers Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.