We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“diamond in the woods” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teniqua Treetops

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Teniqua Treetops to your Saves list
Teniqua Treetops
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Foot hills of the Outenique Mountains | between Knysna and Sedgefield, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“diamond in the woods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Brilliant place.didn't want to check out, almost decided to hide in the woods.stunning views,excellent service, perfectly secluded, well equipped, a little pricey but worth it.perfect dose of tranquility!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi MIke, so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it is beautiful in paradise. We are so spoiled. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    68
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
49
115
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

One night was not enough time to really explore all that you can do on the property! What a cool place to stay, quirky tree houses with incredible views. I especially love the outdoor bathrooms and braai deck!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Jo
Pleased you your stay. I agree, it is best to spend a few days here to relax and enjoy the peace and traquility. We are a destination , not a drive through. So please come again. The walks, though tough are specatular, 35 hectares of pristine indigenous forest.
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I spent a lovely weekend at Teniqua Treetops. Units are raised of the ground on wooden poles amongst the surrounding forest and fynbos. Wooden kitchen & bathroom with permanent tented main bedroom. Accommodation is rustic but clean, neat and well-equipped. Lovely outdoor bath with view of surrounding nature. Very eco-friendly establishment! Lovely, albeit steep walk to the river below, definitely worth the effort. Only negative is that we never saw a loerie!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi, I am sorry you never saw a loerie, well...you will have to come again. There are a few days whe we don't see them. I have never yet found a nest, or a baby. They are confusig birds. I have however seen a Narina Trogon twice in the last week. Which is very exciting they are so rare
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

After some horrible days in Cape Town we arrived at Teniqua last minute, which was no problem.

What a surprise!!!! Great place, great idea, great people, we loved it. The toilet and water system are wonderful and worthwhile. Yes, prices are high for travellers but it was worth it! Totally relaxed and a nice walk to the river. Braai was great, the night was freezing, but with heath Blankets doable!

Recommend this to anyone!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Ronja, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. The electric blankets are a must for winter and they are low wattage. So its an environmentally friendly way of staying warm. The last few nights have been sooo cold. I know we do charge more, but our maintenance is high (and ongoing). The distance between each tree house dramatically increases privacy, reduces the impact on the forest and increases the costs. See you again soon.
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed being close to nature with forest experience being peaceful and relaxing. The unit is well appointed and the design unique being constructed by locals with glass, wood and canvas.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Derek. We try and be creative. I think if left without any maintenance, any people, in about 10 years if you came here, the foerst would have returned the tree houses to mulch, not sure what would happen to the windows though ! We try to be as natural as possible, creative and organic. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

What an experience - next time we'll make sure our trip is planned for longer! Was awesome relaxing under the milky way and looking at the shooting stars. We loved the early morning forest walk and sunrise over the valley. Awesome, well done guys!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Angie, we do't often get East London guests, welcome. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, we would love to have you stay longer. The stars are truly magnificent in a place with no light pollution.
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Teniqua treetops is an awesome place to stay if you want to get away and be totally relaxed... The views of the mountains are really stunning. Robyn was also is extremely helpful and made sure we settled in nicely... I really recommend this place to stay... the best thing is that they are also very environmental friendly which is a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Jared
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciated what we try and achieve here. Low environmental impact and a gentle hideout. Regards Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Teniqua Treetops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teniqua Treetops

Address: Foot hills of the Outenique Mountains | between Knysna and Sedgefield, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Teniqua Treetops 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teniqua Treetops is a beautiful nature lovers' resort. With 8 gorgeous hand-crafted, self-catering, eco-friendly treehouses hidden in the indigenous forest. Enjoy wonderful forest and river walks, fabulous birds - a truly authentic woodland experience, an ideal romantic honeymoon destination. Kids will also enjoy the pool and playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Teniqua Treetops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teniqua Treetops, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.