We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury treehouses make for a unique experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Teniqua Treetops

Save Saved
You added Teniqua Treetops to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Teniqua Treetops
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Foot hills of the Outenique Mountains | between Knysna and Sedgefield, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Luxury treehouses make for a unique experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is a beautiful and wonderfully quirky place to stay. We stayed for one night in December 2011 and loved our treetop adventure, but clearly it's not going to be for everyone, so we'd encourage you to look at the 'Don't Come if' page on the resorts website before you book.

We loved staying in somewhere so peaceful and waking up to the sound of the forest in the morning. It was a totally unique experience, although we think that staying for a couple of nights is more than enough.

The treehouses that you stay in are impressively constructed, and in effect you're staying in a large safari tent on stilts! They come equipped with a large kitchen, braai facilities, while the bathroom has a big bath with lots of hot water which looks right out onto the forest, a composting toilet, sink and shower. We worried about getting cold at night, but thanks to the electric blankets provided we were snug all night long!

Having dinner on the platform while looking over the forest with a setting sun was a 'once in a lifetime experience', but you're some way away from shops so you need to bring all of your supplies, and insect replant!

We'd recommend that you arrive early to make the most of the experience, and encourage you to take a walk down the valley to the natural swimming pools in the river. The walk was hard work at times but totally worth it. The resort also has a swimming pool and games room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    42
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
25
74
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Well - where to begin! I am terrified of spiders, and had to question my sanity at booking one night at Teniqua Treetops - however, my partner convinced me it was a experience of a lifetime, and darn it - he was right!!

We were met by the really friendly owners, who took us down to our cabin (Greenbeard) and made us feel so welcome with lots of local knowledge and interesting information about the trees and plants and wildlife.

Our cabin was more like a tent in the trees; but it was lovely, charismatic and the bed was beautiful with a pretty duvet cover and little pretty details on the mosquito net. The toilet was an 'eco' type one which didn't use water or a conventional flush, some people may be put off by this, but we really didn't find it too different from usual toilets, there was certainly never any awful smells or anything emanating from it - and if it helps preserve the natural beauty and resources around Sedgefield then all the better.

The bath which was on the balcony half inside half outside was definitely my favourite feature, it was big enough for two of us and it was such a treat to lounge in the warm water whilst we were showered by cooler rain looking across the valley of trees - and we were even joined (for a few seconds) by a Knysna Loerie!! The water which comes out of the taps can be either river water (brown) or the clear-type water, but we used river water and it was lovely - like bathing in tea!!! And both of use commented on how soft our skin felt later that day!!

We really did enjoy our stay here, there is a fab pool and spa to relax in up by the reception, and we met some friendly dogs and horses too. It is an experience of a lifetime, you feel you are completely out in the wilderness although you're really only a short drive from civilisation.

Other people did encounter spiders, and I must admit I kept a VERY keen eye out for any of the pests, we were careful to keep the tent doors/nets zipped up and we only encountered one spider in the toilet/shower room at the end of our stay.

We were really pleased with the little bottle of complimentary mosquito repellent(we didn't need it when we stayed but took it with us for later use!!).

For anyone considering staying here by apprehensive about bugs I'd say, be brave, take a chance, you might just like it - we certainly did!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

What a treat and a brilliant find! Will definitely be back for another visit.

Pack your books and cards for relaxed evening entertainment under African skies. A pair of walking shoes, which you dont mind getting wet and stock up on your food supplies (including charcoal) before arriving as you wont want to leave once you get there. Teniqua is simply stunning and such a peaceful, soulful break from society and all its madness.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

On a trip along the garden route we stopped here for two nights. It was a nice retreat - very remote and nice for private romantic getaway - but no convenient food, pretty messy common areas, okay service, and fairly dirty room (big spiders even in the bedroom).

I was a little puzzled when we were charged 50% deposit while still on the phone booking and then the remaining 50% before we could even see the room. Once we checked in and saw the room I had immediate hesitation about having paid both nights, and considered staying only one. The good side is that these are really spacious suites with kitchen, living room, porch and bedroom that have beautiful views. The story of the place and its eco-friendly construction are also really impressive. But we were a little disappointed by the brown water - okay, its river water, but we don't want to bathe in water the same color as our tea - and the giant spiders (as well as warnings of various neurotoxic death-inducing ones) in the bedroom didn't help us sleep well.

I thought this was pretty pricey for the quality, remoteness, and lack of food (there wasn't even cooking oil in the kitchenette).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

We booked for one night but stayed two, so that's a recommendation.

The setting is lovely in the forest, and the rooms, whilst simple are fun. An open bathroom and kitchen and a superb balcony and perch at the top of the ladder in tranquility allow you to enjoy the setting, and the bedroom, in the tented part is zipped up to keep the creepy crawlies out.

Don't go if you are scared of the wildlife, you are in the forest with the thngs that live there, but do go if you want a fun, different kind of stay.

We had a young child with us, who thought it was superb sleeping in the forest. The walk down the valley was hard for a toddler, but do go walking in the forest, its great.

The owners were friendly and helpful, and the pool was simple but good. Our 3 year old also enjoyed the trampoline and climbing frame.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

We stayed for two nights, and enjoyed this truly unique experience. However, be prepared, you will be sharing your tree house with all of the other wildlife that lives in the forest, including midges and the occasional hairy spiders. Make sure that you read their website, it gives a good honest account of what to expect. Our sleeping area was in a tented canvass inside the tree house and we had a mossy net on our bed, ensuring that we went to bed alone! it is great fun, and a chance to feel totally at one with your surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snowmansam
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

All Treehouses have a brilliant views from the bathroom to the bedroom. I would recommend taking a walk down the valley to the river to really appreciate the beautiful surroundings. There are lots of quirky green features in the Treehouse such as rain water bath/sink and composting toilet. It is a little pricey but cheaper than more well known places and worth the money for the experience.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Teniqua Treetops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teniqua Treetops

Address: Foot hills of the Outenique Mountains | between Knysna and Sedgefield, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty lodging in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Teniqua Treetops 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teniqua Treetops is a beautiful nature lovers' resort. With 8 gorgeous hand-crafted, self-catering, eco-friendly treehouses hidden in the indigenous forest. Enjoy wonderful forest and river walks, fabulous birds - a truly authentic woodland experience, an ideal romantic honeymoon destination. Kids will also enjoy the pool and playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Teniqua Treetops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teniqua Treetops, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.