We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly beautiful, rural location. Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fraai Uitzicht 1798

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robertson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fraai Uitzicht 1798
Save
You added Fraai Uitzicht 1798 to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Klaas Voogds East,, Robertson 6705, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Robertson B&B and Inns
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful, rural location. Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed at Fraai Uitzict as part of a long trip along the garden route. We initially found the location a bit too far off the beaten track, but once we found we could drive at 50mph on the 6km long gravel road, it wasn't bad at all. The location is very peacefull, and the accomodation was really like something out of a fairy tale. We had a small cottage, adjoining the main building with a loft mezannine double bed, and kitchen, lounge and 2nd bedroom on the ground floor. The outdoor bathroom was something new for us to try, and showering outside in the morning was a lovely experience with views over the vineyards. The staff were extremely helpful. I needed to visit a doctors unfortunately and the hosts booked an appointment nearby within 1 hour.
The food had to have been one of the best meals we had in South Africa. The 7 course wine tasting menu was a memorable experience.
Well worth a couple of nights, or more.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    15
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
76
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vayrac, France
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We were really glad that we chose to stay here, one of 2 places on a trip along Route 62 from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town through the Little Karoo (much more dramatic and much quieter than the over-rated and over-crowded Garden Route). Tucked in under the hills between Ashton and Robertson, we had a very comfortable chalet bedroom in a lovely garden (being restored), full of birds, and with a view of the mountains north of the Garden Route. We also used the small, natural-looking, pool in the garden. We dined in the restaurant on the terrace -- good food, though the home-produced estate Merlot was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

We loved this place. The owners are lovely, friendly and relax. And the food and wine were wonderful. We will not hesitate to come back and to recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights at Fraai Uitzicht up in the hillside east of Robertson. Our hosts were very service minded and do really look after their guests. However, you don’t stay at Fraai Uitzicht because of the superb accommodation (which is ok, but no that fantastic), but for the tranquillity and the superb restaurant. It is a place to relax, and eat and drink well.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrjustint
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

This place is a must. The tranquil setting. Amazing food. Incredible décor in the rooms. Great pool area. Friendly staff and owners who are incredibly knowledgeable. Probably the highlight of our South African adventure. Thanks, Karl & Co.! Best - Justin and Cluny. P.S. No dog poop and the dog is comedy.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRMINGHAM
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

On my latest trip to the Western Cape i was lucky enough to stay in some wonderful places, Fraai Uitzicht being one of them.
We stayed in one of the pretty cottages overlooking the mountains in this peaceful relaxed yet so beautiful place, the owners and staff were very welcoming and simply faultless, the fine wine and dine experience is an absolute must even if you are not planning on staying there, i would seriously recommend you do though! Not the cheapest place you can find but a night or two of real luxury shouldnt break the bank.

  • Liked — the setting
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villach, Austria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

We stayed in this place for one night only. The place itsself is definately in a tranquill surrounding. The rooms are also nicley furnished with a warm atmosphere.
What we did not like was the dog´s poo on the gras from the young and (lovely) dog of the owner. But to sit in this smell on a terrasse is not ours.
Unfortunately it may have been harvesting time, so that big tractors with turnbrils drove directly behing the cottages on the small way to the farms. As they started at sunrise, we definately were awake.

Summary, yes it is beautiful but not worth the price.

  • Liked — The beatiful location
  • Disliked — The noisy tractors in the backyard
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fraai Uitzicht 1798? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraai Uitzicht 1798

Address: Klaas Voogds East,, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraai Uitzicht 1798 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Fraai Uitzicht 1798 Hotel Robertson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraai Uitzicht 1798, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.