We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat

Save Saved
You added Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   Klaasvoogds West | The Rosendal Wine Farm, Robertson 0770, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Robertson
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“An absolute pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

My wife and I spent a night at Rosendal and everything, from the the moment we arrived to the way our room was set up and even the serving of the food, had a sense of peace about it. The staff were lovely and always willing to help. The surroundings are incredibly peaceful. My wife is a beauty therapist and she commented on how great their spa treaments were and how reasonably priced they are. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Room number 5 is furthest away from the restaurant area and had a particular calm about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    22
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
74
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arundel, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I've stayed at Rosendal many times and had seen it grow a little tired and weary. However, this year the owners had clearly invested in updating the rooms and the new manager - Annelie - and her husband the chef are great assets to Rosendal. We had a lovely stay and literally the only downside I can still find is the lack of air conditioning in the rooms. However, part of the charm of Rosendal is the rustic feel of the place, tucked away in such a beautiful valley, so having mod cons such as TVs or airconditioning really isn't top of your mind. Can't wait to be back there soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My sister and I had a wonderful night at Rosendal. Our room looked out onto a field of very contented cows which was exceptionally peaceful. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast was most delicious.... egg, bacon, tomato and mushrooms after a lovely fruit salad. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and they looked after us superbly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had an amazing time at Rosendal. We stayed 3 nights and loved every second of it.
We were a bit apprehensive when we got there and saw no TV, however with the restaurant, spa and a lovely pool area we did not miss watching TV at all.
The location is great if you like wine tasting and this will keep you busy during the day.
I would highly recommend Rosendal to all our friends and family!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed for 1 night on a trip up the wine route. Beautiful and relaxing location and setting, the rooms were in very good taste. Had massage, wine tasting, dinner and breakfast. The dinner was certainly the best meal of our trip, and we ate at some rather nice places! The dishes were elegant and obviously very carefully thought out. Enjoyed the wine and massage too, brought a couple of bottles home. Would definitely stay here again, probably for 2 or 3 days next time as apparently you can rent bikes from just down the road and would be a great place for some riding.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Beautiful setting and friendly staff. We were 1 of 2 families at the time and it was really quiet and relaxing. Perfect place to stop over. We even indulged in a spa treatment, which just added to the whole experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I booked Rosendal Winery as a getaway weekend for my family when visiting from the UK, and despite booking through a booking agent as appose to direct, their constant communication via e-mail was commendable & even went as far as calling a couple of days prior to my families arrival to check if we wanted to book any treatments or activities - very organized establishment.
I didn't actually go to Rosendal (My parents went) but they had nothing but great things to say, they loved the setting, the food, the service, all in all 5*.
Great work to all at Rosendal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat

Address: Klaasvoogds West | The Rosendal Wine Farm, Robertson 0770, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosendal wine farm has a four star wellness retreat with accommodation, spa and a french country restaurant by day and fine dining by night.The facilities are located on the Rosendal Winery farm just outside Robertson in the Western Cape.We offer five spa suites, three farm rooms and one family room. All with en-suite bathrooms, private patio and facilities you would expect to find in a four star establishment.The Thervine-focued spa has three separate treatment rooms with qualified spa therapists. We specialize in treatments based on the skin and pit of a wine grapes, high in antioxidants.The property also hold a fantastic rim-flow swimming pool with bar service steam room, a wine tasting area, a private tasting area in the cellar on request of staying guests.Our farm offer wine tasting for free from our wide range of red and white wines. Together with Lindt we also offer a wine and chocolate tasting. The restaurant by David Godin, a michelin awarded chef, serve french inspired country food. Lunches are lighter while the restaurant are transferred into fine dining by night. Our signature 5 course meal with wine pairing is a high light for most visitors.Activities in the area include more than 50 wine farms in the area, mountain biking, game drives, river cruise, art and craft and exciting cuisine. The farm got new management and chef in May 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.