We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat to your Saves list
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   Klaasvoogds West | The Rosendal Wine Farm, Robertson 0770, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robertson
Wokingham, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Rosendal is in a lovely location up in the vineyards with stunning views of the mountains around Robertson.

The room was very nice, open plan bathroom and doors opened onto a patio with lovely views. The swimming pool looked gorgeous but too cold at this time of year! Annalies gave great tips for what to do in Robertson and we really enjoyed our lunchtime boat trip from Viljoensdrift.

We had our evening meals there both nights and the food was really excellent. William provided great service and got the balance just right between being there when needed but not too much, which must have been difficult as we were the only guests.

The steam room was a great facility to have - definitely a good place to come to relax.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir-Rosendal-Winery, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the review and kind words for Rosendal and its staff. We hope to see you soon again here at the tip of Africa!

Thank you so much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Best regards

Geir Tellefsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    29
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
87
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The staff were wonderful. Many thanks to Annalie, she is a sweetheart. The food was very good and well served. The rooms were a little "cold", The spa therapy was excellent as well. Overall we had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir-Rosendal-Winery, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the review and kind words for Rosendal and its staff. Our winters are cold from time to time, and its truly a challenge for us to keep up the heating during night, thought we do try our best ! I hope to be able to welcome you back during summer, and you can feel the heat and relaxed atmosphere this brings with.

Thank you so much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Best regards

Geir Tellefsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Amazing place to stay with family. It was my Diamond Boy 1 birthday, and we booked for weekend away.Excellent place, view , convenient and excellent customer service. Gorgeous view . Definitly a Wellness Treat, no Tv so thats reall disconnect with the city rush. We stayed there with my little one, he ran around the garden . Had a birthday party too,..... Chef baked a cake for him too.... what a wonderfull way of wrapping the first year as a mum. Congrats to DD

Room Tip: Standard rooms facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir-Rosendal-Winery, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words of Rosendal and its staff. We are so happy that you had such a good time, and we look forward to welcome you back on the farm!

Thank you so much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated.

Best regards

Geir Tellefsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a beautiful location, that caters for a lovely weekend break with everything a romantic getaway should have. They have a South American chef who delivers interesting versions of old classics with a twist of modern injection. There are 2 spa rooms, so no couples treatments in 1 room, but good treatments as part of the relaxing break. They even arranged a picnic and boat ride for us as part of the overall experience. One of the places in SA that knows how to deliver a couples break.

The rooms are beautiful and the staff take the time to fill the room with rose petals, sparkling wine and a fill a rose bath. The rooms don't have TV or mini bar but do have coffee and tea facilities with hair dryer to keep looking good :-).

The main reception has the wine tasting room and a bar with a TV for those wanting to keep u wtih sprorting results. The Rosendal wine is not fantastic and is over priced. However the expereience and lcoation make up for it all and the best of all is the place is run by the most AMAZING staff.

Room Tip: Room with the pool room are beautiful, however you can hear everything in the rooms on either side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsberg, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Rosendal winery is a splendid retreat placed in picturesque surroundings in the South-African wine countryside. The premises is nice, with a pool and ample space for sun bathing. My wife enjoyed her spa treatment, me and the kids had a good time in the pool. The restaurant was excellent! We enjoyed a six course meal with rather nice home-grown wines. The neighbours olive oil was exquisite. Recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

If you look for a relaxed remote place to indulge yourselve choose this small heaven on earth. The rooms are spacoius including a wonderful shadowed porch overlooking the pool and the surroundings. The staff were amazing and focused on your well-beeing. And then to the food. Chef David creates miracles in the kitchen. We stayed for 3 nights and all meals were one long row of delicious experiences. My wife and I have been travelling all over the world but have never experienced such a complete package of relaxation, food, good wine and excellent service. Owe yourselve to travel a couple of hours from Cape Town to Rosendal to pamper and indulge yourselve...and don't forget to spend time in the spa enjoying massage and skin treatmens.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir-Rosendal-Winery, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you so much for staying and giving us such a nice review - we hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Staff are extremely friendly and accomodating. Food and wine are delicious. Had a lovely relaxing 2 nights and will recommend Rosendal to friends and family. Staff recommend activities in the area such as cruises up the Breeda River which was a fantastic experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir-Rosendal-Winery, Owner at Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us at Rosendal and look forward to welcome you back soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat

Address: Klaasvoogds West | The Rosendal Wine Farm, Robertson 0770, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosendal wine farm has a four star wellness retreat with accommodation, spa and a french country restaurant by day and fine dining by night.The facilities are located on the Rosendal Winery farm just outside Robertson in the Western Cape.We offer five spa suites, three farm rooms and one family room. All with en-suite bathrooms, private patio and facilities you would expect to find in a four star establishment.The Thervine-focued spa has three separate treatment rooms with qualified spa therapists. We specialize in treatments based on the skin and pit of a wine grapes, high in antioxidants.The property also hold a fantastic rim-flow swimming pool with bar service steam room, a wine tasting area, a private tasting area in the cellar on request of staying guests.Our farm offer wine tasting for free from our wide range of red and white wines. Together with Lindt we also offer a wine and chocolate tasting. The restaurant by David Godin, a michelin awarded chef, serve french inspired country food. Lunches are lighter while the restaurant are transferred into fine dining by night. Our signature 5 course meal with wine pairing is a high light for most visitors.Activities in the area include more than 50 wine farms in the area, mountain biking, game drives, river cruise, art and craft and exciting cuisine. The farm got new management and chef in May 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.