We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't forget to ask for the wine tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Lodge Guest House

Save Saved
You added Cedar Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cedar Lodge Guest House
23 Cedar Avenue, Robertson 6705, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Robertson B&B and Inns
Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't forget to ask for the wine tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at Cedar Lodge where we were welcomed by the hosts who appeared very helpful to make our stay a memorable experience.
There was not any restarants in the vicinity but don't worry dinner was offered with South African speciallities and the best South African wines. Our host appeared a very competent cook!
If Paul have the time to offer you a wine tour don't miss this opportunity to visit the very best wineries in the region of Robertson in a full day tour ending up with Klipdift Brandy Distillery in Robertson, where you have the chance to taste 21 year old brandy!!
Anja and Ib, Denmark

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

We were 3 girls who stayed 3 nights with Paul and Lynne. We planned 2 nights, but we enjoyed it so much that we ended up with one more night. And we had a great time there. A relaxed atmosphere, great activities( a very nice winetasting with Paul) and excellent food. The rooms are very nice and clean and we will absolutely recommed the place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

Paul and Lynne our hosts were excellent. We only intended staying 1 night but Paul drew up an itinerary for 2 full days which were action packed with activities from wine tasting to mini safaris, culminating with a swim in the pool when we got back and G & Ts on the verander. The food was home cooked and fabulous, we even had a bri one evening with 2 other guests. Breakfast was beautifully presented with wonderful fresh fruit and bacon and eggs to finish. If you plan on doing Route 62 - which is a MUST stop off in Robertson first, there is plenty to do there. Go and see Paul and Lynne and they will make your stay worthwhile.

  • Liked — Food and location
  • Disliked — Doggies
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

Cedar Lodge is nestled in a peaceful avenue in Robertson with the best views from our room over the mountains. We based ourselves there as Cedar Lodge do wine tours, but we quickly discoverd Cedar Lodge had more to offer than the wineries in the area!
The owners Paul and Lyn provided the most superb breakfasts, we stayed there 3 nights and every day something more spendid was put in front of us...yummy! One evening we decided to have a traditional braai with the hosts at Cedar Lodge with one other couple and it was the most amazing experience! Thank you Paul and Lyn for our first traditional braai, which will be hard to follow! The garden is mature and the birds were singing every morning...the pool was sparkling blue - very clean & cosy accommodation with crisp white linen. Simply the Best!!
Finally, I can only say, don't miss out on the hospitality and comfort of a stay at Cedar Lodge in Robertson.

  • Liked — clean & fresh, private entrance and service key
  • Disliked — nothing at all
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2007

We just stayed 1 night at the Cedar Lodge but now I can tell that it was the most remarkable one of our many stays during the 2-weeks-trip thorugh South Africa. Lynne and Paul were just so helpful and friendly!! Even though my English wasn't the best (and my partner even didn't understand a word) they both were very polite and tried to speak as understandable and explaining as they could, i think. It was the first night in South Africa and they couldn't make it better!!! We also had dinner at their place and I still can remember the delicious taste of the great menu (and the wonderful wine of the Robertson area) we had!! Breakfast was great as well and the Apartment was very cosy...Everything was just perfect!!! Lynne and Paul - THANK YOU SO MUCH!

  • Liked — The nice way Lynne and Paul treat their guests.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

If one likes good wines and visit the region around Robertson, we warmly recommend Lynne and Pauls Cedar Lodge in Robertson.
It is a really very nice and cosy place to stay, with a lot of charme (and two lovely dachshunds).
Lynne and Paul gave us a lot of precious advises (i.e. like where to go best for canoing, which scenic route would better to drive, what kind of equipment is useful, etc.) and helped with the bookings for diverse National-Parks and car rental in a highly professional and most kindly way.
Paul took us to unforgettable wine-tasting-tours - without him we would have been lost in the 44 wineries of the region with a couple of hundred different wines, Ports and Champagnes. Breakfast is excellent and the evenings of BBQ s were marvellous. Paul celebrates his delicious meals with knowledge, passion and taste - we found no better place to eat during our 5 weeks holidays.
If we'll ever again travel in South Africa, for us CL will be a MUST.
Thomas Kunz, Hamburg, Germany

  • Liked — The absolutely great quality of the dinners
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge Guest House

Address: 23 Cedar Avenue, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where the Rest is Best". Upmarket accommodation in a quiet residential area in the Heart of Route 62 (longest wine route in the world). Private tropical garden setting with pool and abundant bird life. Three double rooms and a family suite, all with private entrances and verandas, tea/coffee trays, fans and heaters and wifi internet facilities. Enjoy sumptuous breakfasts as well as evening meals (by prior arrangement) prepared by Chef Paul. We stand by our motto - best beds, best meals and wine - the rest will speak for itself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cedar Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.