We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Robertson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House

Save Saved
You added Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   8, Le Roux Street, Robertson 6705, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Robertson B&B and Inns
San Pedro, Spain
1 review
“The best in Robertson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have stayed at Ballinderry on a number of occassions, a wonderful base to explore the whole Robertson area. Very comfortable rooms nice en suite facilities. Helpful hosts and of course Hilda's five star dinners.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
186
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a really nice time at Ballinderry. Rooms were immaculate and tastefully furnished and we had a very comfortable stay. Our hosts were charming and helpful and made us feel at home. Would definitely recommend.




  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a short but a very great time at Ballinderry Guest House! Really a nice place, lovely house, modern rooms, very friendly people and the best breakfast we had during our whole trip in SouthAfrica!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place is the only place to stay in Robertson. The owners were very friendly,. helpful and gracious. We wish we could have stayed there for more than one night, but will return. As two women travelling on our own we felt very safe and secure. The rooms are well layed out. The one downstairs has a bath, for those who want the luxury. Will definitely recommend the place to anyone. Thank you Luc and Hilde

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Luc & Hilde know exact what kind of service and atmosphere you like to encounter when traveling. He is a very attentive host and she - having all the properties of a real hostess - is a very good CHEF de (Haute) Cuisine ! Everyday preparing fabulous dishes ("paintings") which you also get when eating in star-restaurants ! Luc always took care of the wine selection.
We enjoyed our stay very much and will definitely come back again when we visit the Robertson area.
Luc gave us good information where to go to (a.o. many wineries/golfcourse)

To conclude : the only negative point after the three night stay has been the increase of my weight ....(Hilde : "it was delicious")

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor. Luc took care of carrying the luggage to our room. TIP : don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We only had the pleasure of staying here for 1 night, but it was awesome. Very friendly hosts and extremely helpful to us with organising wine tours and dinners. The rooms were very comfortable and luxurious. Breakfast was also amazing with a huge selection of different foods that would suit every appetite. I would definitely stay here again if I was going back to the area.

Room Tip: They're all good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the Ballinderry on the recommendation of our Tour Operator and what a good choice this was. We had two meals cooked by Hilde who always made sure in the morning that whatever she was cooking that evening was to your palate. Breakfasts were also good especially when accompanied by a glass of champagne. The rooms were large and very comfortable. Pool outside was one of the nicest we had seen and used in our three week tour of SA. Will certainly recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House

Address: 8, Le Roux Street, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury boutique guest house in a quiet residential area. Unwind in a relaxed atmosphere of luxury and inspiring decor. Indulge your senses with mouth-watering food and fine Robertson wines. Enjoy unsurpassed hospitality and service excellence. Ballinderry has five double/twin rooms and two deluxe garden suites, all with air-conditioning, satellite TV and all other modern comforts. Facilities include pool and big tropical garden, top quality bedding, tea- and coffee facilities, fans, hair dryers, safes, WiFi and secure off-street parking. English & Continental champagne breakfast included in our rates. Don't miss Hilde's mouth-watering home cooked dinners, inspired by her Belgian roots and love for the Mediterranean cuisine. A feast for foodies and wine-lovers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.