We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine a disappointment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reuben's at the Robertson

Reuben's at the Robertson
58 Van Reenen Street, Robertson, South Africa
011 27 23 626 7200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 20 Restaurants in Robertson
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wine a disappointment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The restaurant is warm at lunch time during this time of the year, and the menu has been prepared with this in mind, offering light meals that are bouncing with flavour and strong colours full of sunshine. The service was humerous and of a high standard. I had chosen a local wine from their menu which has a strange taste and I was disappointed that after mentioning that the taste was of concern and that I wanted to see how, and if, it improved with food, there was no follow up by the staff to check if we were still dissatisfied. Nor was there the offer of a different wine that may have suited the meals we had chosen. Something I would have expected from such a high quality restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    11
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great food - but servings were too generous for us! We prefer smaller helpings - even at breakfast which is a meal not to be missed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Delicious food served in a beautiful environment.
The menu was the same for the 2 nights, but there was sufficient variety to choose from.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The venue is good but the food and the choices available were not. The the vegetables were beyond al dente and the venison was far too salty and spoilt the meal. The chocolate pave was uninspiring and the service was not up to the high standard we have come to expect in South Africa.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Firstly the setting is wonderful! The Robertson Small Hotel is a very charming place with a combination of the classic Cape architecture but with beautiful modern elements. The staff were friendly and helpful - they did neglect to take our detailed drink orders although they did take our wine orders and brought water. The food was amazing! Would really recommend going there for special memories.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reuben's at the Robertson also viewed

 
Robertson, Western Cape
Robertson, Western Cape
 

Been to Reuben's at the Robertson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reuben's at the Robertson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.