We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another enjoyable visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christina's @ Van Loveren

Christina's @ Van Loveren
Van Loveren Vineyard, Robertson, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 20 Restaurants in Robertson
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: The place to lunch in the Robertson Valley if you love:* Thin-crust wood-fired pizzas* Sumptious gourmet pizzas* Refreshing glass of wine* Freshly squeezed juices* Good cuppacinosSituated at Van Loveren Family Vineyards, with seating both indoor and outdoor (vineyard pergola stoep), Christina's looks out to the beautiful gardens, Van Loveren is so well known for. Also open on Sundays when local musicians sets the tone for a laid back afternoon!
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was my second time to Christina's. Again the food was very pleasant and the service good. The setting beautiful and a world class cellar. I am sorry I did not order the steak, but will definitely do that the next visit. It looked like very good value for money. I'll definitely be back for the steak.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    26
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swellendam, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another great meal at Christina's @ Van Loveren wine estate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We have eaten lunch at Van Loveren wine estate 3 times in the past, and have yet to be anything other than highly impressed.

Today we went for lunch, and we both ordered the 250g beef fillet, medium rare, and one serving of their mushroom sauce, plus a bottle of their very good Chenin Blanc wine produced on the estate..

Service from the waiting staff was polite, efficient, and prompt as we have come to expect from Van Loveren.

The fillet arrived, cooked perfectly medium rare, and was frankly the best fillet I have eaten in a very long time. It was served with fried potato wedges, and battered onion rings.

We live not too far from Van Loveren wine Estate (60km away in Swellendam), and I meant to ask them where they source their raw meat from, but forgot. Oh well .. we will just have to return very soon to enjoy another well-presented, perfect meal.

Also, prices are not out reach of local South Africans, unlike many SA tourist-area establishments who price their food for the "real money" economies in Europe & America, and by doing so discourage local 'normal' South African customers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alkmaar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Beautiful place, outstanding views. Great service, delicious wine and very cheap, exquisite food!! Would definitely recommend this place to anyone who are staying at Robertson!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset west
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Lovely Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We called in at Christinas without booking. Although the restaurant was almost full they managed to find a nice table for us in the shade. The service was quick and pleasant. We just ordered a cheeseboard to share and some drinks. The portions were generous, and as well as the cheese and bread we particularly enjoyed the little extras that came with it, the sun-dried tomatoes, the onions and the olives.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Communication is Key”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had a lovely lunch at Christina's on their outside patio with is beautiful and cool during summer. My partner ordered a pizza with a lovely thin crust and the toppings just perfect. I ordered the fillet which is usually served with wedges and onion rings however I asked the waiter if it would be possible to substitute the wedges and onion rings for salad and she said that that would not be a problem at all. I enjoyed the fillet with salad which was very tender however was very disappointed when the bill arrived to see that I was charged for having substituted the wedges and onion rings for a side salad. Don't get me wrong I probably wouldn't mind paying however I feel that it should have been communicated to me when enquiring as to whether or not I could have salad instead of the wedges and onion rings that a surcharge would be charged, however this wasn't done and a little cheeky.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christina's @ Van Loveren also viewed

 
Robertson, Western Cape
 

Been to Christina's @ Van Loveren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christina's @ Van Loveren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.