We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grape Escape!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excelsior Manor Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Excelsior Manor Guesthouse to your Saves list
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   C/O Excelsior Estate | R317 Robertson/Bonnievale, Robertson 6705, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Robertson B&B and Inns
Vence, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Grape Escape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I knew the winery and owner from my work in the UK wine world but this was a purely pleasure trip and although the pics on the website make the Manor House look enchanting, the reality was so much more! An exquisitely furnished and appointed old Manor House, brimful of history and antiques and needless to say a heavenly and luxuriously large guest room with all the facilities you could ask for, yet still in keeping with the dignity of the place. Carin Visser, the hostess was relaxed and genuinely welcoming (you can tell when a fake smile wishes you good evening - non eof that here!) We settled into the room, then were offered some wine: but not just a glass on the terrace! No, the use of a golf buggy to explore the estate then a bottle of superbly quaffable Shiraz in a picnic basket with glasses, nibbles etc and a suggestion to wobble over to the Tasting Room terrace, a wooden platform on stilts overlooking the lake, the mountains, the birdlife and an amazing sunset. Wasn't the straightest of golf buggy driving back to the house for a friendly, relaxed and thoroughlty delicious and enjoyable supper. I could go on...but lets just say, WOW! On a future trip to SA, I would probably base myself there and go explore further, knowing that the Manor House when you get back each day is the most perfect and relaxing home from home

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    28
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
90
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

Wine tasting of excellent wine including your own personal blending & bottling. Great venue, good honest food & a golf cart drive through the vineyards.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

Excelsior Manor Guesthouse was absolutely lovely. The gardens are beautifully kept, the pool is a sparkling reprieve from the heat, and the decor reminiscent of a time gone by. Carin Visser the hostess is a gem. She was friendly, helpful and very accomodating of our various requests. She was responsible for preparing some outstanding meals accompanied by their lovely estate wines. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay. We look forward to visiting again with our children.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We went to South Africa and we wanted to visit the winelands. The trend has always been to go straight to Stellenbosch however we opted to try somewhere different. We searched the internet and found Robertson a little place that had a bit of everything to offer the visiting tourist ie shops, tea rooms, eating and drinking and a variety of tours not just wine but cheese and brandy!!! We found this guesthouse on the internet and was bowled over by the pictures. On reading the reviews this was the one! On arriving we were met by caren who made us feel so welcome and relaxed. We were shown to our room which was decorated beautifully with all the little touches that make the place extra special- chocolates, a little bottle of tipple,magazines, extra toiletries, slippers and gown and brochures/info on what is available in and around the area.The room was a grand affair beautifully done, dressed in large antique furniture and a big comfy bed. My husband did notice there was no t.v however i was glad and he did agree that he had not missed watching it- even for sport!!!! The place is so relaxing and we met some very wonderful people there. Our days were spent visiting a local attraction - picnic boat trip was great. and then our afternoons were spent lazying around the pool reading and soaking up some sun. The breakfast was great, a good variety offered all eaten on the outside terrace overlooking the vineyards and mountains. Our evening meals we opted to have in the guesthouse and again the meals were fantastic. Other alternatives would be offered if you did not want a particular dish. Every evening we spent sampling the excelsior wine with caren there to remind us it was harvest time and we needed to help them drink it!!! We did the wine tour around its own winery and finished off by tasting and mixing different samples. One complete we bottled,labelled and boxed it and it was given to us for free as we were guests in the manor house- and it survived the flight home!!! On our arrival Caren told us to make us feel at home in the guest house but it was more special than that it was previously someone' s house and there was alot of history still in the house with photos and ornaments. We could come and go as we like and to use the house as we would our own. Caren was there to give us any help and advice but also we spent evenings chatting about anything and everything!! Caren brought a special touch to the place and gave it that more personal and homely feel. Even the cat and the dog were the friendliest animals (ps they are not allowed inside the house) who spent their time lounging in the garden in the sun! Just to say i never written on trip advisor but felt comelled on this occasion. A beautiful retreat away from the hustle and bustle with great people, great scenery and of course great wine!!!!

Room Tip: Each room was different so enquire to suit your needs ie baths/showers, outside seated area, cooler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

An absolute must for anyone staying in the Robertson area. Excelsior Manor is splendid in all aspects ,accommodation food ,service and the wine is very good too. Any visitor should take up the offer of the golf buggy,wash the dust down with a cold glass of excellent chardonnay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

After a somehwat long and arduous trip from Plettenberg Bay on our way back to Tulbagh we were delighted to meet Carin who greeted us on our arrival and made us so very welcome for our two night stay. We cannot recommend this beautiful house enough. The rooms were large and airy and our bedroom opened out on to a terrace overlooking the vines. The magnificent setting of this property surrounded as it is by its own farm, vineyard and views across to the distant hills is spectacular. Our hostess could not have been more helpful and the dinner both nights was delicious. Anyone travelling in this area of Western Cape would be well advised not to miss a the opportunity to stay at this most unique and luxurious guest house.

Room Tip: All rooms were of an equally great standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

After a very busy, hot business day in Robertson it was bliss to enter the cool Cape Dutch manor house at Excelsior Wine Estate. The hospitality was outstanding and we were instantly into a sparkling pool with an ice-cold glass of wine waiting. Next we took a little tour of the vineyards in the golf cart, accompanied by the farm collie dog and finally ended the evening with a delicious meal in the dining room. Thanks for the genuine hospitality Carin.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excelsior Manor Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Manor Guesthouse

Address: C/O Excelsior Estate | R317 Robertson/Bonnievale, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Manor Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse, in the heart of the Robertson Wine Valley, is a Cape Revival manor built during the ostrich feather boom of the early 1900s. Having been recently lovingly restored to its former glory, it offers quiet luxury and personal hospitality. Set in a mature and graceful garden, with shady trees and fragrant roses, the Manor has nine homely bedrooms, with ensuite bathrooms, and exudes old world charm. Generous home cooked country breakfasts and delicious three course dinners are served in the traditional dining room or on the raised deck overlooking the swimming pool with a view over the vineyards to the Langeberg mountains. Excelsior is a working wine farm which has been in the de Wet family for 5 generations since 1859. Guests are invited to explore the 250 hectare farm either on foot or in the golf cart provided. There is a tasting centre, set on the picturesque dam, where guests are invited to try the range of Excelsior Wines and to blend their 'own creation'. Each of the nine unique luxury bedrooms at Excelsior Manor Guesthouse has a history linked to a famous thoroughbred or hackney horse that was previously bred on Excelsior Estate. All the rooms are ensuite and are equipped with the following:•Complimentary water, chocolates and a small bottle of local Muskadel•Towels •Hairdryer •Tea & coffee facility •Bathrobe & slippers •Bathroom amenities •Wireless internet connection is available in the lounge area •Clock radio/ alarm •International plugs Octavius - Octavius Caeser, the first thoroughbred sire introduced to Excelsior, was bought by Koos de Wet in 1873 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Excelsior Manor Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excelsior Manor Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.