We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent old world small lodge and sunshine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Bergkant Lodge & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prince Albert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
De Bergkant Lodge & Cottages
Save
You added De Bergkant Lodge & Cottages to your Saves list
5 Church St, Prince Albert, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
northants
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent old world small lodge and sunshine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

The Lodge is a conversion of a historic house and furnished with antique pieces. Everything you could want has been thoughtfully provided from mosquito machines and tablets (changed every day) to torches,from cotton buds to insect killer (this is the countryside and you will get animal life). The pools are a delight as is the garden. The owner is very much in evidence and provides as much or as little help as you want. He will make restaurant reservations for you if you wish. This is a very welcoming place. The kitchen is open for drinks all day. Breakfast is from 8am to 4pm whenever you want it. The staff are superb. The suite we had was very spacious with separate lounge with TV, fridge, sink etc, large bedroom and a huge bathroom. We stayed 6 days and will be going back. This is South African hospitality at it's best.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

We recently spent a couple of nights at De Bergkant - - it was a repeat visit because we loved it so much the first time we stayed. The lodge and cottages are beautiful, the grounds are manicured, and the host (Charles) and staff are amazing. We loved the rooms with the huge bathrooms and shower stalls, and comfortable beds.

I would heartily recommend that you stay at De Bergkant if you are planning a trip to Prince Albert - - you'll love every minute of it!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

We were completely blown away by De Bergkant Lodge. We almost decided to by-pass Prince Albert as the accomodation options didn't leave much to get excited by. Finally found De Bergkant on Trip Advisor, and based on the three (why only three!!!) previous reviews, decided to stay here. Best decision of the entire trip!

The owner Charles was exceedingly warm and polite showing us to our fabulous huge room. But it is the beautifully maintained gardens and pools that are a real knock-out. A great deal of care and attention hava gone into making the place so stunning. You can tell that Charles is a perfectionist and loves the lodge and the town. Having breakfast by the pool in the morning felt extremely decadent.

Charles had made us restaurant reservations at the Gallery Cafe - a restaurant run by a passionate chef who obviously loves his job. Incredible food.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights - 3 or 4 nights would be perfect. Most other guests were one night only and regretting not staying longer. The De Bergkant is at one end of Prince Albert's charming high street. It's a collection of beautifully designed and furnished Cape Dutch style buildings, with peaceful spacious gardens including a swimming pool and a large hot tub - great for star gazing.

Rooms are spacious, individual and cool even when baking outside, bathrooms superb with "his and hers" showers, (a bath too). Breakfasts were convivial, chatting both with other guests and Charles, the interesting and travelled owner, who has a wealth of local info as well as holding his own on any topic!

Prince Albert is a charming oasis within the desert like mountainous Karoo landscape. The town has a choice of restaurants, cafes, galleries etc, and you can go walking, cycling or driving within the area. Don't miss the Swartberg Pass or the gorge route in or out of town.

Many thanks, and we hope to visit again.

  • Liked — Informal, personal, delightful rooms and gardens
  • Disliked — No criticism
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

Surprised the owner when we arrived as he wasn't expecting us until the following day - a chilled glass of wine later and everything was under control

We stayed in one of the cottages which is a few miles away from the main lodge. Cottage was lovely - in a very peaceful location with two other cottages in the grounds (one owned by a British couple who were staying there at the time. Their friendliness and hospitality was second to none).

Owner of the lodge booked us a table for dinner at the Gallery restaurant - which was suberb and totally unexpected. Breakfast next morning was back at the main lodge - it was superb.

We only stayed at Prince Albert for one night - and wish we had stayed longer. It is a lovely place - very relaxing with a number of coffee shops and craft shops to wander around. Scenery in the area is wonderful.

When we left we drove over Prince Alfred pass - even more spectacular than Swartbeg - probably more so because there was a very low mist which added to the excitement of the two foot wide gravel road winding its way up and down the mountains.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Bergkant Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Bergkant Lodge & Cottages

Address: 5 Church St, Prince Albert, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Prince Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Cape Dutch national monument situated in peaceful large gardens. All rooms and suites have en-suite bathrooms with both double walk in showers and Victorian baths. The rooms and suites are air conditioned, have ceiling fans and are underfloor heated for those chilly winter nights. There are two salt water swimming pools, one 15 metres and the other 10 metres. There is also a sauna and steam room available for guests to use. The historic lodge, rooms and suites contain a fine collection of antique furniture and South African art. A full country breakfast is served on the terrace by the pool in summer and in the poolside dining room in winter. Off street parking is provided and the lodge is within walking distance of the village and its many attractions and restaurants. The lodge is South African owned and is managed by its owner, Charles Roux. All credit cards are accepted. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Bergkant Lodge & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.