We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“QUIETLY WATCH THE WORLD GO BY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Bergkant Lodge & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prince Albert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
De Bergkant Lodge & Cottages
Save
You added De Bergkant Lodge & Cottages to your Saves list
5 Church St, Prince Albert, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Worcester, England
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“QUIETLY WATCH THE WORLD GO BY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

My wife and I spent 6 very relaxing nights at De Bergkant Lodge. Our suite was large and comfortable ...... a long king size bed; small lounge with sofa, television and a fridge; and a massive bathroom with an old fashioned bath tub and a double shower. The grounds were lovely, with 2 swimming pools and an outdoor hot tub. Breakfasts were plentiful and well presented, and served on the patio by the pool when the weather permitted.
The lodge is located at one end of the main street in Prince Albert, and is within easy walking distance of all the restaurants and cafes. Prince Albert is a lovely old small town, where you can just watch the world go by. There is also plenty of good walking; lots of fresh fruit available; a some good evening drives to watch the sun set behind the mountains.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We were recommended by Sophie, while having lunch at her fine restaurant in Willowmore.
Greeted by Charles ,he had already made provisional bookings at 2 restaurants in the fine town of Prince Albert.
At pre dinner drinks-on the house-we met ,some great people from Germany ,Holland ,and Italy,whom we late dined with ,and exchanged adresses.
In short. it was like being at a house party ,with the perfect host.
When we left something in our room ,Charles even arranged to have it taken by some friends to our next port of call.
And to top it all the value is amazing for such quality in a very interesting house full of antiques ,with a long swimming pool ,and a warm spa pool
.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We arrived to met by Charles our genial host. We were told that we had been upgraded to the best suite and it certainly was. We had a sitting room/kitchen area with a separate large bedroom and one of the hugest bathrooms I have ever seen with old fashioned bathroom fittings and all copper pipes. The Lodge and Cottages are set in beautiful gardens where there are three swimming pools. Charles was very hospitable and always on hand to serve drinks and chat with guests. He made reservations for us at The Gallery where we had an excellent evening meal. Breakfast was served the next morning on the terrace by the pool.

All in all we had a fabulous stay and would definitely stay here again if visiting Prince Albert.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

in the Western Cape, in terms of guesthouses and Charles's place was up with the best. A fabulous series of rooms and suites in cottages around a beautiful garden with two swimming pools and a steam room and sauna. My Moroccan friend was in seventh heaven to find a "hammam"!

Charles's hospitality is apparently legendary. We had wine and an introduction to South African history on our first evening, and lovely breakfasts, charmingly served. And good advice on where to eat and visit.

Apparently nearby (45 minutes drive through the most fantastic countryside and gorge) De Rust was voted most beautiful village in South Africa. Couldn't see it myself and was glad to escape.

Prince Albert itself was very interesting, buzzy, with nice restaurants (The Gallery) and cafes. We even found a nice barman at the town hotel who made us Irish coffee!

Room Tip: all are excellent but try for ground floor rooms overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed here for one night in April. The rooms are very spacious with a huge bathroom with bath and double shower. The beds have luxurious and comfortable duvets on and were really nice.

Breakfast was quite average and not what we expected from such a nice place. Overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

My daughter and I decided to do the scenic route to Cape Town from PE and so went via Prince Albert. I had stayed at De Bergkant before and was keen to visit again.
The rooms are so spacious, the bathrooms heavenly, the duvets and extra length beds a real treat.
So are the beautiful gardens where you can pluck lemons and grapefruits off the tree's and an abundance of pomegranites when in season!
Special touches everywhere.
We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed in one of the rooms near the pool, which was beautiful in it's simplicity. Charles the owner, was a very charming host. The location of the guesthouse is perfectly central for walking around the quaint village. Lots of lovely restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask Charles about the best restaurant for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Bergkant Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Bergkant Lodge & Cottages

Address: 5 Church St, Prince Albert, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Prince Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Cape Dutch national monument situated in peaceful large gardens. All rooms and suites have en-suite bathrooms with both double walk in showers and Victorian baths. The rooms and suites are air conditioned, have ceiling fans and are underfloor heated for those chilly winter nights. There are two salt water swimming pools, one 15 metres and the other 10 metres. There is also a sauna and steam room available for guests to use. The historic lodge, rooms and suites contain a fine collection of antique furniture and South African art. A full country breakfast is served on the terrace by the pool in summer and in the poolside dining room in winter. Off street parking is provided and the lodge is within walking distance of the village and its many attractions and restaurants. The lodge is South African owned and is managed by its owner, Charles Roux. All credit cards are accepted. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Bergkant Lodge & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.