We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "diamond" in the Karoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dennehof

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prince Albert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dennehof
Save
You added Dennehof to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   20 Christina de Wit Street, Prince Albert 6930 , South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
1 review
“A "diamond" in the Karoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The small town of Prince Albert was recently featured in a South African reality cooking series, so when my partner and I visited the Western Cape we decided to stop over for a night. We chose Dennehof as our guest house were not disappointed at all. The rooms were clean and the "honesty bar" fridge in the room was stocked with everything we needed. I was especially impressed with the friendliness of the staff. As for breakfast, I can highly recommend the Dennehof stack - absolutely delicious. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    17
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Thanks to Ria for a wonderful stay!! We absolutely loved it!! The unit was beautifully decorated. We had an awesome time. The breakfast the next morning was excellent. We found the staff extremely friendly. Thanks to Ria for your hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

It was bitter cold with lots of winter rains ,relentlessly battering our recently retired Home in Hermanus ,when my wife Suzanee,demanded...."let's go somewhere!!"...so we decided on the Karoo around eastern cape,to see what we could find
The news that the swartberg pass was closed due to very heavy snowfalls ,resulted in a detour via Oudshoorn and the majestic Meiringskloof pass and the Prince Albert valley,to get to the old Victorian hamlet,est around 1800,s,hidden away in the remote Karoo,of Prince Alfred hamlet
We made no prior arrangements,so we checked out all the top spots on offer,but it was at Dennehof that the charming Riaana,offered us her "honeymoon suite" that we figured...no contest to this place
The garden has an orange tree decked with huge juicy ,inviting oranges,flanked by a statue of a naked beauty,with water flowing all over her,the image resonating with the essence of what this place is all about( it was even harder than last time we started?)

After exploring the Victorian hamlet ,with fascinating discoveries like the cheeses at Gay,s dairy
,we retreated to our wonderful room where a fabulous bottle of red CWG in front of our fireplace in a awesome old room with lots of memories seduced us into a relaxed mood

After a very acceptable dinner ,and lots more wine,we retreated from the icy freezing cold to the warmth of our den....the silence ,and warmth ,balm for our weary bones

The next morning greated us with warm yellow sunshine,and the crisp mountain air ,and this awoke our appetites
The dining room of the very old manor house is intimate and totally awesome,warmed by an old fod burning wooden stove and a breakfast setting found only in the most celebrated restaurants
The lovely young waitresses,dressed in their splendid uniforms,and armed with disarming smiles,served us with quiet professional attention
The breakfast,presented and shared with infinite detail was as tasty as it was satisfying
We will be back,and then we will stay longer
We strongly recommend DENNEHOF and stay awhile......you will be enriched!

Room Tip: The honey moon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have been to Prince Albert a few times and have stayed at a couple of places which were all great. This time we were lucky enough to get in (last time it was full) and we will definitely go back. The original farm homestead of Prince Albert which has been lovingly restored to provide authentic, extremely comfortable and well, priced accommodation. Don't eat for a week, the breakfast are plentiful and sensational, always cooked by Ria, the owner herself. Ria is the perfect host and went out of her way to ensure that our stay in Prince Albert super exceeded our expectations. The attention to detail oozes out of every crevice at Dennehof. Cannot recommend too highly. Just book and go! Thanks Ria!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Prince Albert, the "Dorp van Die Jaar" 2012, aka the coolest dorpie in the Karoo. We had found Dennehof in Frommer's and on TripAdvisor. Per the Frommer's recommendation we reserved the Wagon Shed and were pleasantly surprised at how charming the unit was. Spacious, with some neat historic and art items. Tiny bath room with just a shower, no bath but: there was a nice patio with an al fresco bath tub. This sounded great but, it was infested with ants and other bugs, going after some fruit ands leaves in the tub. Probably normal here, as there was a can of bug killer in the unit and we used that and a lot of water to clean the tub. This was about the only negative: one would think this could have been cleaned out before our arrival. The main building and outside breakfast area across from it were lovely, and the breakfast itself delicious, served by friendly staff. This small complex is very private and spacious - a bit far to walk (when it's hot) but only a few minutes driving from the small "downtown" main street area with its art galleries and restaurants. We totally loved our meal on the Gallery Cafe's upper floor veranda during a major lightning storm!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Wagon Shed at ZAR 1,060 including a great breakfast for two because of its spaciousne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked a weekend with friends at the Dennehof which included a trip to die Hel. Accommodation was absolutely wonderful, we shared the Cottage and loved sitting in the cool, little Retro kitchen and having wonderful breakfasts served in the garden. We particularly enjoyed that we could take a lovely evening walk to the restaurant Ria had booked for us and explore Prince Albert on foot. Our hosts, Ria and Lindsey were welcoming and friendly and I can recommend the trip with Lindsey to die Hel, he is a fountain of local knowledge!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different in decor and have diferent facilities, look on the web page.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Our 2nd visit to Prince Albert. Try some other place, we could not lock our room, key was missing ! R900 was over the edge for room with nothing other than old not functional stuff. flooding in shower was another thing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freddiePrinceAlbert, Owner at Dennehof, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. It is so heartwarming to know that our efforts do not go unnoticed! As you can appreciate the hospitality industry is a tough one and we thank you for telling us about the shower.As for the no key in the door, you can understand that the building is build in 1835 and to change the locks to new ones just to have a key was unnecessary, therefore for your safety we have put a latch on the inside of the door.Your remark about old not functional stuff is very unclear, the bed is top qaulity, the bedding and the towels the same and the Victorian bath and the toilet are functional.The Grading tourism council do grade us frequenty and therefore we are proud to be a 4 star establishment..I would have appreciate your comments the next morning but no response has been given to us from you. We thank you for your patronage and we are looking forward to welcoming you back for a few days.
Have a wonderfull 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dennehof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dennehof

Address: 20 Christina de Wit Street, Prince Albert 6930 , South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Hotel Class:4 star — Dennehof 4*
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dennehof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.