We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lazy Lizard

The Lazy Lizard
9 Church Street, Prince Albert, South Africa
+27 (0)23 5411 366
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European, Coffee Shop, Continental
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

On our recent trip to Prince Albert, we lunched at the Lazy Lizard again. We were very happy that the faces were still very friendly and helpful, and that the food was simple but comforting 'kontrei kos' - we had the lamb and veggies. The bread was also really good. This is a down to earth place for a hearty meal and it doesn't disappoint

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    72
    17
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Espresso in the Klein Karoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

A warm and friendly place for a good espresso and breakfast in Prince Albert....freshly baked scones, breads, cakes etc......

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a lively hearty breakfast if french toast and bacon with karoo honey... all bread freshly baked in the morning... altogether a comforting breakfast in a lovely cosy place..

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best Rooibos Cuppachino and Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The owner, a South American, has created a wonderful ambience to this homely, warm and simply great restaurant. I would highly recommend the Rooibos Cuppachino, Milk Tart and Lazy Lizzard Rusks. This restaurant has started a lineage in our family; for that to happen, proves that one must visit this quaint little café in order to fully experience Prins Albert! Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durbanville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hearty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had lunch here on 3 different days and the food was superb. Lovely home-made bread, pea soup and the best chicken pie I have ever tasted.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lazy Lizard also viewed

Prince Albert, Western Cape
Prince Albert, Western Cape
 
Prince Albert, Western Cape
Prince Albert, Western Cape
 

Been to The Lazy Lizard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lazy Lizard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.