We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mai, you are a wonderful caracter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mai's Guest Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prince Albert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mai's Guest Lodge
Save
You added Mai's Guest Lodge to your Saves list
81 Church Street, Prince Albert 6930, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Groningen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mai, you are a wonderful caracter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We came by recommendation. Mai wanted of course know from who :-) We had the lovely seperate bedroom near the pool. We had two perfect days. Good advices and reservations for dinner. Really Mai, we loved it very much. And those cats???? No problem, I don't like them very much, but THEY only like YOU, so no guest will ever be molested by these lucky creatures who also found your perfect hospitality. Thank You Mai.

Room Tip: Rooms inside the house are constantly airconditioned, the seperate room near the pool you can cool y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    21
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
70
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, THe Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My partner and I spent five weeks travelling South Africa during December and January and stayed in many different B&Bs and guesthouses. We are both in agreement that our most memorable and enjoyable stay was at Mai's.

We felt welcome from the start and Mai's warm hearted hospitality and attention to quality is what made this stay stand out.

The location is perfect; central and within walking distance of all attractions in town. Our room was spacious, impeccably clean and well-maintained with all the necessary amenities, we even had our own fridge and the cool air conditioning was a welcome escape from the heat outside. Fresh milk for making coffee and tea and a stash of cookies are provided every day.

There is no wi-fi connection but many restaurants in the street do offer free wi-fi if you really have the need to go online - we did not and preferred to relax with a nice book on the cool veranda. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast every morning served by the ladies of the house. The selection of warm and cold breakfast menu items were just right, freshly prepared and well served. Mai's suggestion on what to do and where to eat were spot on and she even helped us by making the restaurant bookings for us.

We found Mai's guest house via Tripadvisor, it was not possible to book online but Mai was quick to reply to our e-mail enquiry.

Prins Albert is a lovely little town and a worthwhile stop en route to Cape Town via Route 62. If you do decide to spend a night or two you will do well when choosing Mai's.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Mai is an excellent host and the rooms are cosy and well appointed. Breakfast was delicious. It is deservedly number one in Prince Albert if you are looking for somewhere quaint and unpretentious to stay with great hospitality. We will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is our 3rd stay at Mai's and we just love it! Mai is such a wonderful host and for us she is number 1 in Prince Albert. Her B & B is very comfortable and her breakfast is always excellent, but her great asset is her personality.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

What a win to have stayed with Mai in Prince Albert. She's incredibly warm, big-hearted, practical and unpretentious, just like her guesthouse. It's extremely comfortable, and has many lovely luxurious touches (thank you for the extras in the bathroom, and those generous white towels!). It's the only B&B where I have felt totally at ease wandering around in bare feet and a wrap -- it was like staying in a friend's home. We couldn't do the ghost walk because of the rain, but Mai arranged for Ailsa to come to us before dinner and we spent over an hour totally engrossed in her historical tales. Mai also gave us great advice about where to eat, and her breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were actually quite disappointed after ready all the great reviews. Yes Mai the owner is caring and accommodating and lovely and the B&B fantastically located. The room we stayed in (the room outside at the pool), was well equipped and neat and clean, but the air-con did not work properly and we were quite disappointed with the breakfast. Breakfast was served outside and there were so may flies I had to keep them away with one hand and eat with the other. I kind of had the feeling I was intruding into someone's home and I am a animal lover, but all the cats were a bit much. I think Mai is lovely, but we definitely expected more I guess.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTown
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We visited Prince Albert in October 2013 and had to find a guesthouse in a hurry after the one we booked into shafted us.
Mai was most accommodating and showed us all the rooms and gave us our pick of rooms available. Our room was comfortable and homely and the breakfast more than adequate.
We like cats; at the last count there were 17; 16 of these are feral and live outside though they do sit on all the ouside furniture and leave their fur all over the place - a problem if you are allergic!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mai's Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai's Guest Lodge

Address: 81 Church Street, Prince Albert 6930, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mai’s Guest Lodge offers four comfortable, air-conditioned, double bedrooms, each with a bathroom-en-suite (with shower). Three rooms have an additional single bed and the family room has bunk beds. Mai serves a hearty, cooked breakfast on the terrace or in the sunny dining room. There's a comfortable lounge, shady patios, a sheltered swimming pool and the peace of a village lifestyle. Mai’s has a three star rating from the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai's Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.