We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swartberg Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prince Albert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swartberg Hotel
Save
You added Swartberg Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   77 Kerk Street, Prince Albert 6930, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 18 Prince Albert B&B and Inns
Cape Town Constantia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Service Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Me and my Spouse booked for a one night stay into the Swartberg Hotel. Friendly Staff welcomed us on booking in, and we went straight to the Charming Victoria room for a 10+++ meal. We then head back out to our motor to fetch our belongings, and the manager on Duty Emma came to offer her help and carry the one suitecase. It just made such an impression on me and my wife, that this women was so helpfull and friendly. She informed us that the motor is 100% safe where it was parked, and she asked the security guard to keep an extra eye on our vechile.
Again, breakfast was a feast, and we are on our way, maybe with a little hint of sadness because we might not ever meet another place and staff with care and friendlyness and a charming, clean Hotel like the Swartberg Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    10
    9
    1
See reviews for
10
23
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This historic hotel in the picturesque village of Prince Albert offers good value for money, is centrally situated and offers quite a few modern luxuries. Ideally situated for strolls through the village and close to a top restaurant (Gallery).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed at the Swartberg Hotel, Prince Albert, South Africa, ( ten years, since we last visited !) New owner investment, and improvements made our stay even more enjoyable than the first time!
Room spacious, immaculate, luxury finishing touches.
Food was fantastic quality and value, good winelist, (but quite a few out of stock???)
Staff courteous, but sometimes appeared a little 'none engaging' with customers?

Could only improve if had a manager or front of house on duty, rather than just regular staff.

Room Tip: Room 14, in courtyard area, near pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This hotel, has kept its old world charm. it has not modernised the interior, which i found to be the right thing.
that does not mean that its a back wards establishment, in fact all the modern ameneties, ie WiFi, fax facilties etc is there.
the staff were really acomodating, and you are made to feel welcome.

Room Tip: theur rooms are to the back of the hotel, which mean that you dont hear traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We were four people and stayed at the Swartberg Hotel on 28 November 2013. We occupied two single rooms and one double room. All three rooms was of high quality. Linen was fresh and clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast included in the price! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and this charming old Hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We rarely eat in hotels but this was the only place available during the very busy New Year period as we were passing through. So we had to give it a try. What a surprise. My wife had the roast chicken special and I had the most amazing beefburger, again, something I rarely order, but it was a home made patty with everything imaginable and absolutely delicious. Despite the place being full the service was swift and friendly. Would definitely eat there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This place took us in after the B&B we had reserved literally left us out in the cold. Even though we did not have a reservation, the security guard called staff after hours to come back to check us in. They gave us an adorable bungalow, two circular rooms connected by an entryway and bathroom, and let us pay the following morning. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, and there was free wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swartberg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swartberg Hotel

Address: 77 Kerk Street, Prince Albert 6930, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Prince Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Prince Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swartberg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swartberg Hotel is a charming three star (TGCSA) Victorian hotel, situated in the heart of our quaint Karoo village, Prince Albert. Established as a hotel in 1864, the Swartberg is now one of 19 national monuments in the village, and is still the only hotel in Prince Albert today. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swartberg Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.